Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Certain Web Pages wouldn't load! (Firefox 1.0.6)

    I don't know if there are any Loungers that use eTrust EZ Armor Firewall but since I am now on cable <img src=/S/fanfare.gif border=0 alt=fanfare width=31 height=23> the provider offered both the firewall and the virus software for free! Now the problem that I had was the provider's website for its help pages would not load in Firefox and these help pages won't load in IE. Their advise was to turn on the capabilities for animation in the privacy/Ad Blocking area. That didn't help but I decided to go one step further and turn off the ability to block Banner/Skyscraper Ads. Now the help pages did load in FF as well as IE but boy what a mess!

    So I tried Tony's recommendation for Adblock Plus from his list of extensions <post:=520,869>post 520,869</post:> and that seemed to take care of the unwanted ads as well as still allowing me to load those help pages in FF. Thanks Tony!! <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15> I haven't a clue what I should do about IE. Good thing I don't use it much.

    I guess I am curious if there was any other way to get around the problem of accessing those sites that refuse to load because of the firewall's blocking of ads? and I don't mean the scruffy type of sites either! <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> I don't go there!

    Hopefully I've given enough information so my question is clear. It all seems clear to me! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> and <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Certain Web Pages wouldn't load! (Firefox 1.0.

    Hi Skitterbug & welcome to the world of broadband.

    I have turned off my firewalls ad-blocking and pop-up blocking options and instead rely on the built in browser options and AdBlock Plus to do the tasks. If I find a site that I either want to view ads in, or have problems because ads are blocked, I use the shortcut Control+Shift+B. This toggles turning AdBlock Plus on & off, so I can then reload the page with ads displayed.

    I do not have ad-blocking in IE but as I rarely use it to visit sites other than microsoft.com it is not a problem.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Certain Web Pages wouldn't load! (Firefox 1.0.

    Thanks Tony for replying! Sounds like a good plan to me and I appreciate the confirmation that I am on the right track with my thinking process! I'll try your shortcut for toggling the AdBlock too! <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15> I very seldom use IE except for those few pages that "demand it"! I hope they change their way of thinking sometime soon! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Thanks again for all your help with FF. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Certain Web Pages wouldn't load! (Firefox 1.0.

    Hi Skitterbug,
    I use CA's EZ Armor on my machines, and find it useful to customize the Ad Blocking (under the Privacy tab). I should mention that I use ZoneAlarm Pro 6, and NOT the version that EZ Armor provides, on my main machine (ZAP 6 is more up-to-date). The others run the entire EZ Armor suite (a/v & firewall), and seem to work just fine. I've never found it necessary to run AdBlock, but if it works for you, great! Anyway, customizing the ad blocking within ZoneAlarm (EZ Armor is just ZoneAlarm Pro 5x but with the CA name on it) works fine.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Certain Web Pages wouldn't load! (Firefox 1.0.

    Skitterbug,
    Just wanted to say that I think you'll find CA Antivirus to be fairly unobtrusive and quite good. It updates itself regularly (usually daily), and is very easy to run. That said, should you run into a 'Fatal Error 3' during download, just wait a few minutes -- they always fix the problem quickly. This error, it seems, happens when connecting to the CA servers quite a bit with a dial-up connection, but not often on broadband. Thought I'd mention the error -- just in case you see it, and wonder what's going on. Fatal Error 3 aside, CA Antivirus is very good.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Certain Web Pages wouldn't load! (Firefox 1.0.

    Hi LR!

    So far the only annoyance was not being able to load the help web pages of my internet provider. Since I have changed those settings in the Privacy/Ad area and loaded Adblock, I seem good to go. As for the antivirus package, I had this while I was on dial-up. I have never gotten it to update itself automatically. I even allowed it free access to the Internet but something never seemed to work properly. I exchanged several emails with the CA help desk but the problem was not resolved. I just made myself remember to do it manually. It was just trying to remember to do it!! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> I am hoping that since I have downloaded the new software package, that the update part works properly now. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16> Guess I will know in a few days whether I'll be able to trust it to update itself or if I will still have to manually do it. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> At least it doesn't take forever to get it done now!! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

    Thanks for your replies and the warning about the Fatal error 3! If it happens, I won't space out about it now! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> Every piece of information helps me get this stuff figured out! <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Certain Web Pages wouldn't load! (Firefox 1.0.

    More on Fatal Error 3 During Download:
    Sometimes, if you temporarily disable ZoneAlarm, the program will update itself with new definitions, yet, at other times, it doesn't. I haven't seen any satisfactory answers in any other forums, so my advice, should you encounter this error, is to simply wait for the next day's definitions to be issued. That has always worked. As to the automatic updating not working for you, if you uncheck the box for connecting if not connected -- see screenshot below -- you should be fine.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Certain Web Pages wouldn't load! (Firefox 1.0.

    Okay! I got it set up that way! Box unchecked, etc. Now to see if the AV really updates itself. I believe you said it normally will update every day? or at least every other day? I can see by the date when the last update happened so I can keep watch on its activity. I also know where the log is stored for viewing so I can check there for activity as well. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> As for a Fatal error 3 - let's hope it never happens! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> But I know how my luck works, so I will probably see it sometime! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •