Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    421
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Report parameter prompt (2000 (SP3))

    I have a report with a number of parameter prompts to fill in information on the fly. They are attendance sheets for a club and they want to be flexible about entering date ranges. All was working fine when I had the 7 prompts in the detail header (one for each of 5 weeks, one to name the month that attendance is for and one to indicate the last date that dues collected were recorded). These are sorted by various classes that are held and I decided to move these prompts from the detail header to the page header and two of the prompts now give the #NAME? error. If I move the textbox back to the detail header, it works.

    Both of the prompts that fail include text and then the parameter prompt. They are in the format with the Control Source as ="For the month of " & [Enter the month]

    Is there some reason this won't work in a page header when it works fine elsewhere on the report?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Report parameter prompt (2000 (SP3))

    A control source such as the one you mention should work anywhere in the report. Could you post a stripped down copy of your database? See <post#=401925>post 401925</post#> for instructions.

    (I don't know what a detail header is, do you mean a group header?)

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    421
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Report parameter prompt (2000 (SP3))

    Now that I know that it isn't some obscure quirk in Access but rather Access acting in an obscurely quirky way, I will do a little more troubleshooting on my own to see if I can fix it. If I'm still having trouble, I will post a copy.

    Sorry about the confusion with the detail header thing. It is a group header that happens to be called "details header".

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Report parameter prompt (2000 (SP3))

    You can't fill a field in the page header from a control in the body of the report. Put a hidden copy of the control in the header with the prompt and refer to that for your field.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    421
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Report parameter prompt (2000 (SP3))

    The control is now in the page header. It was formerly in the body and I merely moved it to the page header because I want it to print on every page when a class has more than one page a students. I'm going to try the obvious and just delete the old textbox and redo it given that, as Hans said, there's no reason why I can't have a parameter prompt in a page header. At worst, it will be two wasted minutes.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    421
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Report parameter prompt (2000 (SP3))

    As is suspected, deleting those two text boxes and redoing them solved the problem. Clearly they didn't like being moved from a group header to the page header.

    Thanks for your input Hans and Charlotte.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •