Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Need a form to come up so I can enter data (Access 2000)

    I'm trying to fix someone else's database. For some reason when they open a form and choose an account, one of the subforms doesn't show up. The subform used to show up, but lately it doesn't work on new accounts they have created. The older accounts show the subform.

    The main form is TransactionTable. There is a subform on that form called TransactionSubBase. In that subform is another subform called TransactionSubReceipt.

    When I bring up an account that I have recently created, the TransactionSubBase shows up, but the TransactionSubReceipt does not. Should I be adding some code to the On Load property that creates a new receipt if there is none? How would I do that? The TransactionSubReceipt form is linked by the TransactionID on the TransactionSubBase.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Need a form to come up so I can enter data (Access 2000)

    I'd guess that the TransactionSubReceipt subform will show the moment a record is created in TransactionSubBase. Can you check that in a copy of the database?

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need a form to come up so I can enter data (Access 2000)

    Okay. When I enter something in the TransactionSubReceipt, the TransactionSubReceipt still does not show up.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Need a form to come up so I can enter data (Access 2000)

    I assume you meant "When I enter something in the TransactionSubBase, the TransactionSubReceipt still does not show up."

    Has the Allow Additions property of TransactionSubReceipt been set to No?

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    284
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Need a form to come up so I can enter data (Access 2000)

    Yes, it has been set to "No". Unfortunately I can't check to see if that's the problem right away because I have to go the site. The database is linked to data on an SQL Server, so I can only go into Design View on my copy of the database. I'll let you know as soon as I can get to the site to see if that is the problem.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Need a form to come up so I can enter data (Access 2000)

    If "Allow Additions" is set to No, a (sub)form will only display existing records. If a new record is entered in the parent form, there will be no records in the subform and since none can be created there, the subform will show up blank. If you set "Allow Additions" to Yes, the subform will display a blank new record.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •