Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Deciphering Error Message

    Windows shut down and gave me the error message in the attached file. This is the 2nd time this has happened and both times it has been whilst transferring pictures from my Kodak camera. I have had the camera for more than a year and never had problems before so I am thinking it could be a driver? and am browsing around the Kodak site trying to find updated drivers. In the mean time I would like to know if there is a place I can go that will decipher error messages that are Greek to me (Stop Ox0000007E etc.)? It would seem if Windows goes to the bother of telling you all this information, you should be able to use it to figure out what is going on - yes? Except I don't know where to go to find out what all those x's and o's mean. BTW, the error message says something about having enough disk space - I have a 30 gigabyte HD and it shows over half is available when viewed in My Computer.

    TIA
    Attached Images Attached Images
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by DaveA on 24-Nov-05 17:08. Added question about copying)</P>15 gigs is NOT much in the Windows XP world.

    How large are the files from the camera and how many are you trying to copy to the disk?

    Also, how are you trying to do the copying, "Drag n Drop", "Copy and Paste" or what?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    For STOP error message elucidation see <post#=536347>post 536347</post#>

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    It's obviously tied to the camera, but I doubt it's a driver issue - USB connections from cameras are all very similar. Windows sees them as an additional storage device, like a disk.

    You're getting an error with NTFS.SYS, which is the file system driver. Given the fact that you have limited space and pictures can be rather large, I would suspect that the two issues are related. See if you can get an estimate of how much space the pictures are taking before transferring them over. Keep in mind that a hard drive needs at least 10% free space as working room, for temporary files and other overhead.

    It would behoove you to run a thorough disk check. The quickest way:<UL><LI>Start<LI>Run<LI>CMD<LI>chkdsk /r[/list]You should get a message that the drive cannot be locked. Press Y to have the disk check run at the next reboot.

    A final tactic to try is to run the System File Checker in XP. You can search the forums here for a lot of information about this utility.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    I don't know how to transfer the files any other way than using the Kodak software that came with the camera. I tried looking in Windows Explorer but the camera doesn't show up as a drive. If it did I could just grab the files. I wonder if there is a way to grab files off a camera without the camera software? The Kodak software grabs the files and puts them in a folder. I can tell it to grab all at once or one at a time. Maybe I should say one at a time?

    About the 15 gigs not being much - I cleaned up my HD moving a lot to my external HD but that only got me 3 more gig. I will have to look into getting a larger HD.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    I ran chkdsk and after it was done it flashed a huge message that started with "windows found free space" or something like that. But in a blink the message was gone so I have no idea what the results of chkdsk were. Does it store the results somewhere?
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    Oh yes, there certainly is. Buy a rather inexpensive universal card reader, assuming you have a camera with a removable memory stick. Take a look at one example: LaCie 8-in-1 Universal Media Drive card reader. If they advertise USB 2.0 and you aren't up to that level, keep looking for there are others. Or, you might find a USB 2.0 that WILL run with USB 1.0 for I have one that does.

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    Al, when I first saw the picture in the first message, I took a great gulp as I have seen this blue screen on my laptop. It only occurred after I plugged in an external 40Gb HD into the USB port. Little did I know it was a USB1 port and my external HD ran on USB2. It was a real pain to reset <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

    Do you think this problem the Lounger has something to do with USB incompatibilty <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>...it will be interesting to see
    Jerry

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    Yes. <UL><LI>Open the Control Panel<LI>Double click on "Adminstrative Tools"<LI>Double click on the "Event Viewer" icon<LI>Click on "Application"[/list]In the "Source" column, look for the "Winlogon" item. Double click it and you should see the results of your Chkdsk.
    -Mark

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    Jerry,
    I don't think this is a USB incompatibility issue - in that the computer is about 4-5 years old and would have had the 1.0 USB. I have been trying to find out what USB the camera came with [nothing mentioned in the documentation] but since it is 2 years old I'm guessing it was before the 2.0 USB came out. I'm still digging around the Kodak site to see if I can find out what USB it is.
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    Mark, I looked at the results but it doesn't appear there is anything important - meaning I don't think the report says it found issues. See the attached file of the output (it seemed kind of long to paste into this post).

    I also ran sfc /scannow and have the same question - how do I know what the results were? I browsed around Event Viewer but didn't see anything.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    The reason I couldn't see the camera in My Computer is that it was plugged into a camera dock and not the computer directly. As soon as I plug it in directly I can access the pictures the same as any other drive.

    About file size etc. When transferring using the Kodak software I had been telling it to transfer "all at once" so it could be that, on the occassions I got BSODs, there were too many pictures to be transferred. I tested transferring from the camera to my Notebook which has a 40GB HD with 29GB free and I got a error message about memory - though not a BSOD. The size of the 18 files waiting to be transferred was 15.9MB. For the time being I will have to transfer files "one at a time."

    I did update the Kodak software but I doubt that it was the issue. And I do wonder why I started getting the BSODs after never having a problem previously. I suppose it has to do with the HD being used up more as time passes. <img src=/S/frown.gif border=0 alt=frown width=15 height=15>

    Now my next question is do I want to get a new, larger HD? That brings up several other questions:
    <UL><LI>What issues do I need to consider when shopping for a new HD (besides price <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>)?
    <LI>Are there BIOS issues - especially since my PC is 4-5 years old?
    <LI>Can any size HD be put in any PC or does each PC have size limits?
    <LI>How big is big before I wouldn't have space issues?
    <LI>Anything else?[/list]TIA
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  13. #13
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    If you are not having and problems with other programs, for a quick work around, is get a LARGE external USB drive. I use one on every computer for mainly "Backup image files" and photos. These work great. Then when you are ready to Upgrade to a newer machine, this drive will work with it.

    To answer your questions, it would help if we had your make and model of your machine.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Michigan, USA
    Posts
    408
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    I have a LARGE external USB Drive - a 300GB Maxtor which I use to back up all my files. But I have been keeping my photos on both drives. I guess I will have to see how many GB I would recover if I only stored them on the Maxtor. I wanted to keep them on both drives so that if one failed I would have them on another drive.

    About my desktop computer - <UL> <LI> Dell Dimension XPS T700MHz. <LI>84 MB RAM [256K + 128 SDRAM] <LI>Intel82371AB/EB <LI>PCI Bus Master IDE Controller
    <LI>Secondary IDE Controller <LI>30 GB Hard Drive <LI>12X Max Cariable DVD ROM Drive [NEC DV-5700A]<LI>32 MB NVIDIA GeForce Plus AGP Graphics Card[/list]I bought it 4 years ago from a friend who had had it less than a year and just wanted more. I do have the original documents but I am not the registered owner at Dell so I probably can contact Dell with questions - just not as easily as if I was the original buyer.

    TIA
    <font face="Comic Sans MS"><big><font color=4682b4>Sherry</font color=4682b4></big></font face=comic>

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Deciphering Error Message

    If I were you I would consider in upgrading to a lot newer machine. You may be burning your money adding new drives to this slow machine. It is just above the bottom of the CPU requirements to run Windows XP.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •