Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Include auto-number in TOC

    One of our attorneys uses auto-numbering (outline numbering) in, for example, a Site Lease Agreement. The format he's using is 1., (a), (1), etc. Rightly or wrongly, the firm does not use styles. The document is being marked for Table of Contents, but we can't figure out how to get the auto number field to print as part of the table of contents line. What am I missing here? Is there a field code for this? Your help would be appreciated. [Word 2000 (9.0.3231)]
    Karnie Moesenthin
    Technical Training and Development Professional
    Legal Industry

  2. #2
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Pune
    Posts
    310
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Include auto-number in TOC

    If there is a "a" in your TOC field code, delete it. This is with reference to Word XP.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    134
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Include auto-number in TOC

    Thanks, Rajesh! When we move to Word XP, we'll be anxious to try this.
    Karnie
    Karnie Moesenthin
    Technical Training and Development Professional
    Legal Industry

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    224
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Include auto-number in TOC

    Phil -

    You can mark TOC entries just like you mark TOA entries. That's the only other way that I know of to include text in a TOC, and it appears that that's what Karnie's group is doing.

    Lee Morgan

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Include auto-number in TOC

    Hi Lee:
    You are absolutely right and I do know you can use TC fields. My post was misleading & thanks for pointing it out. I've corrected it.

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Include auto-number in TOC

    <P ID="edit" class=small>Edited by Phil Rabichow on 07-Aug-02 10:22.</P>Edited to correct an implication that styles are always required to contsruct a TOC.

    Hi Karnie:
    I'm not sure how you're using styles for your TOC. In order to get TOC entries with numbering, you should use styles. If you use heading styles & number them by going to Bullets & Numbering/Outline Numbering tab & choosing a system from the bottom row (even if you customize it), the TOC should pick it up. If you want to have a special style that includes numbering, you can use that style for the TOC. In that situation, you would pick a numbering style from the top row, rather than the bottom, of Bullets & Numbering/Outline Numbering tab.

    In the latter situation, you can still have text on the same line of the main document that is not included in the TOC by hiding the paragraph mark (select it & press Ctrl+Shift+H).

    If you're doing something different, please explain.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Winston-Salem, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    224
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Include auto-number in TOC

    Phil -

    Phew! My faith in you is restored. Deep down inside, I knew you had to know that, because I'm convinced you know everything about Word. Your revision puts your entire thought into place - sorry that I didn't figure out what you were going for.

    Lee Morgan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •