Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 46
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question about firewalls

    Hi this is the first time that I have posted here, and I am hoping that you can help me.
    I use Win. XP Home, and was in the Security Center, and when I looked at the Windows Firewall it tells me that the firewall isn't on. However, when I look in the Norton Security Center (Firewall Protection) it tells me that "Norton Internet Worm Protection is on." I guess that my questions are:
    1) Does Norton have a firewall as part of it's program?
    2) If so, is it designed to replace the Windows Firewall?
    3) If so, what would there be problems if I ran both firewalls at the same time?

    I got my computer in August, and knock on wood there hasn't been any problems. I had the Geek Squad at Best Buy install my programs on my computer when I bought it, and am hoping with my fingers, toes, and eyes crossed that they knew what they were doing.
    Any help I can get from you all would be vastly appreciated. Thanks

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Question about firewalls

    And Welcome to The Lounge. Please take a look <!post=at this thread.,524,063>at this thread.<!/post> It points out that you should have only ONE firewall running, preferably not the Windows supplied one. I don't use Norton any longer but its firewall seems to be turned on in your case and that's as it should be. Now, as to learning how to "configure" it that's where YOU come in. Please do come back here and ask any questions you may have. Because we're a "worldwide" bunch, someone's almost always here to help. <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19>

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Question about firewalls

    Chris,
    Norton Internet Worm Protection is actually part of the Anti-virus portion of Norton, not the firewall.
    The note about WIndows firewall being off is correct for as Al said, you should not have two firewalls running at the same time. Windows firewall is really part of the SP2 update of XP and is not the greatest choice of firewall to use, although better than NOTHING.

    You should check in the options for Norton to see if it's own firewall is enabled or not. Norton does have a firewall as part of it's new Security package but you would have to enable it to gain it's protection. You should also see an icon for the firewall down in the lower right part of your screen if it is enabled.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Question about firewalls

    The Norton product line is packaged in a number of different products. The Norton Personal Firewall program can be purchased as:
    <UL><LI>A stand-alone product; or
    <LI>Part of the Norton Internet Security 2006 suite[/list]Norton Personal Firewall is not included in any of the following:
    <UL><LI>Norton Antivirus 2006; or
    <LI>The Norton SystemWorks 2006 Premier suite[/list]If you purchased one of the latter two products, try the free "standard" version of Sygate Personal Firewall as a better alternative to the built-in Windows XP firewall. If you prefer to spend $$ on a software firewall, I like Outpost Firewall Pro. You can find lots of other recommendations here in the Lounge.

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Question about firewalls

    Looks as though the Sygate Products are about to become extinct. Quote from their support site (Award Winning Personal Firewall Provider - Sygate Technologies, Inc.):

    "Important Notice: Effective November 30th, 2005 all Sygate products and forum support will be discontinued. For technical assistance, please email SMBSupport@Symantec.com. Thank you and we look forward to assisting you with the wonderful line of Symantec products. "

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Question about firewalls

    Thank you all for your responses. I have Norton AntiVirus 2005. There is where the insanity starts (at least this time). When I looked up "firewall" in it's help menu, the only reference was for networks and firewalls in other programs. However, the Norton Security Center says under Firewall Protection that "Norton Internet Worm Protection is on" (see attatchment). But Norton 2005 doesn't seem to have a firewall according to it's help documentation. So I've turned on the windows firewall, since I still am not sure what is going on!! Ah, whoever said "computers are the bane of my existance" was right on the money.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Question about firewalls

    You're kidding! They called their own product line -- that they bought Sygate technology to fix -- "wonderful"? Unbelievable... Well, I suppose the firewall will keep on working for months or years to come, even without official support. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Question about firewalls

    Aha, that explains it. Yesterday I was at the Sygate web site trying to download the personal firewall and the links did absolutely nothing. I already use the firewall but I was just curious to see if mine is the "latest" version. I guess it is, huh...

    Well, since I already pay Trend Micro, I suppose I should take THEIR firewall for a spin. Anyone reading this that has any experience with it? (I have TrendMicro 2005 - my time to upgrade comes in February)

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Question about firewalls

    I'm sure it will continue to work. The questions then become 1.) what exposure is there with an aging product, 2.) how do you get anything fixed, and 3.) how quickly will there be exploits available for the inevitable holes that are found in current releases?

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Question about firewalls

    I have Sygate Personal Firewall Pro and I'm upset to hear that it's been swallowed up by that piece of ( I can't say it here). <img src=/S/bouncenburn.gif border=0 alt=bouncenburn width=31 height=31>

    I refuse to use Symantec's anything, although I used their Pro versions of almost all of their products for years. Their tech support stinks and their files are so embedded into the registry that it took me over 4 hours to remove them all.

    If we continure to use Sygate, what about the definition updates that we won't be receiving anymore?

    I'll be searching the posts here to find what others are using.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Question about firewalls

    Chris,
    Since Sygate is going, going, gone, Try using Zone Alarm ( <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> ) and get rid of the Windows paper firewall.

    I bounced around from ZA to Sygate and back to ZA again. Works fine with the latest version.

    Download it at: Free ZA
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Question about firewalls

    You update "definitions" (sometimes also called pattern files) in antivirus or antispyware programs, but I don't think you're getting any definitions for Sygate Personal Firewall. Except for program updates which are now GONE, setting a firewall is completely up to the user and his/her preferences. So, I guess one could continue to use the existing until you felt like your "protection" might be jeopardized. Me, I'm seriously thinking of jumping ship!

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Question about firewalls

    I stand corrected, I had this one mixed up with PC-cillin. I downloaded the Zone ALarm Free, going to uninstall Sygate on Wednesday and install Zone Alarm Free. I used ZA Pro for a long time and I am familiar with the way it works. From Zone Alarm and on to PC-cillin and back again. It's a wild ride, this computer program stuff.

    Thanks for the heads-up and the good suggestion.
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Question about firewalls

    Hi,
    ZAP is quite different now, and the current release (6.1.737.000) works well. It just takes a little time to learn the new Program Control functions. The ZoneLabs forums ZA Forums are quite informative, should you have further questions.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Question about firewalls

    At least as of version 2005, the PC-cillin firewall does not have the "application control" (outbound protection) features of Outpost/Sygate/ZoneAlarm. Not sure about version 2006.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •