Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    More firewall questions

    I know there are ongoing questions about firewalls. I have been struggling with CA eTrust EZ Armor Firewall that came free to the users of Roadrunner. While I was looking at Lavasoft's page for new definitions for Ad-Aware, I noticed they offer a firewall of their own. Do any of our loungers use this or have any experience to share about it?

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: More firewall questions

    I have not tried it but the firewall engine is based on Agnitum Outpost Firewall. It gets a good review at Softpedia

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: More firewall questions

    Wow, they are undercutting Agnitum's price by $10. What kind of relationship is that? <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: More firewall questions

    Although the functionality might be slightly different, this probably is mostly relevant:

    I have been using Outpost Firewall Pro for about 2 years. Its basic functionality is very solid, but you might occasionally be annoyed by the way it presents dialogs to approve changes to various bits and pieces of programs, or outbound connections that a program never made before and which has not been pre-approved. In the recent update, in became simpler to okay outbound connections by giving you a default "rule" (I use the Rules Wizard mode; there is a simpler mode).

    After the initial "training," and except for those monthly changes to Windows, you probably won't find it too exciting to use. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> Of the optional extras, I use the one to prompt me on whether I want to download Flash movies from a particular site. (But I don't use the ad-blocking, attachment quarantine, or content filtering plug-ins.)

  5. #5
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: More firewall questions

    Thanks Jefferson and Tony for your feedback. Believe it or not, I got a call from Roadrunner asking how I like using their services so far. I think I quite surprised the gentleman who called because I politely "griefed" about the firewall that they provided. He walked me through it step by step and we made a few changes. So I guess I'll keep giving it a chance. In the meantime, I am going to check out Lavasoft's product a bit more. I may download it to another computer and give it a test drive to see if I can figure it out any easier than the one I currently have.

    I have found that I can read help pages until I am blue in the face, but if I don't understand what the writers are talking about, it just goes right over my head. I can't be just guessing now with a continual connection to the Internet like I could when I was on dial-up. Not that dial-up is safe by any means, but being disconnected most of the day does have its advantages! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> I like the broadband however, so my goal is - to be as safe as possible as quickly as possible so I don't have to worry about "stuff" much!!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: More firewall questions

    Skitterbug,
    I've recently set up several computers using the Road Runner CA EZ Armor setup you're using, and have had problems with the included firewall (ZoneAlarm 5.1) losing program settings. As I remember, ZA 5.1 did have a problem with not remembering settings; the problem was resolved with ZA 5.5, or a version shortly after that one. What I have done recently was to uninstall the CA EZ Armor firewall, and install the new Zone Alarm Pro, version 6.1.737.000. There are no problems with it. You can use your existing CA serial number, since it's a legitimate ZAP number -- even with the CA branding. It should update for a year, although, to be on the safe side, it probably would be a good idea to purchase ZAP from ZoneAlarm and pay the upgrade price. Anyway, it works well, and doesn't exhibit any of the problems that the branded CA version does. No conflicts, either! Good luck! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: More firewall questions

    Thanks for the additional information! I appreciate it lots and I'll certainly check this out!! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: More firewall questions

    Should you opt to uninstall the CA-branded ZAP in order to install the newest ZoneAlarm Pro, don't forget that you need to delete the C:WindowsInternet Logs files manually. The new installation will get quite confused if you don't.

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: More firewall questions

    Hi,

    I am getting totally frustrated with CA losing its settings or worse deciding to block apps that I have allowed to access the Internet day after day after day. It does this after being idle during the night or after long stretches of inactivity. The only way I can get on the Internet is a reboot! I've been following <!post=Al's thread,541,237>Al's thread<!/post> and it seems that ZA will be a better product to use. So my question - when you deleted CA firewall, did you have to do anything extra or just use the add/remove applet? Also, when you refer to the internet logs, do you mean "BACKUP.RDB", "IAMDB.RDB" and "ZAlog.txt"? Are there any others in there that I am missing? I haven't begun any of this, I am just contemplating what I would need to do to make the switch over. <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: More firewall questions

    First, make sure you are not connected to the Internet when you start the process of changing ifrewalls. Then, after you uninstall the CA firewall you can/should delete all the files in the Internet log folder. The .rdb is the ZA database and the others are log files. As was stated, you'll just confuse the ZA install if there are files in that folder.

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: More firewall questions

    Thanks Joe,

    So everything in the Internet Log folder belongs to the firewall? Interesting! Okay, when I get up enough nerve to proceed, I'll do it! I've been known to mess up stuff pretty quickly by getting impatient or in a hurry. I will be sure to turn off the cable modem before starting this process! Thanks for replying!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: More firewall questions

    Well I've finally done the deed and uninstalled the CA firewall and put on the ZA firewall listed in your post. It has a few more features available so I will have to explore it a bit to see if the change is worthwhile. One thing that has been different for me is the license key. ZA does not accept my License Key from the package that my ISP (Roadrunner) offered. I am not sure how you achieved your success in changing the ones that you have. So I have the 30 day trial running for now to see if it is better/easier/or more understandable than the one I had. I'll be asking questions!! So look out everyone because when it comes to firewalls, I am a <img src=/S/doh.gif border=0 alt=doh width=15 height=15> plus!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: More firewall questions

    <hr>...ZA does not accept my License Key from the package that my ISP (Roadrunner) offered... <hr>
    This begs a question about which I think I'll start a new thread, Skitterbug, to keep from cluttering this one up - whether one needs the ZA Pro version as opposed to their free one. After I write my post, I'll come back to here and add a link (edit) to cross reference them.

    Edited to add: A cross reference to my new thread: <post:=545,847>post 545,847</post:>

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: More firewall questions

    Sorry it didn't work for you. It worked for me, but I also own ZAP, so the versions may have gotten confused. Anyway, ZAP 6.5 is very stable. Incidentally, I tried to renew my CA EZ Armor this morning, and found that it's not being updated; they've replaced it with CA's Internet Security Suite, a collection that includes version 5.5 of the firewall, the antivirus, PestPatrol, and an antispam application. So far, the firewall isn't losing settings. Again, sorry the license thing didn't work for you; as I said earlier, it worked for me, but possibly because I already own ZoneAlarm Pro, and run it instead of the CA version. My installed license key is for CA, though.

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: More firewall questions

    Not a problem Liberty~ <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> I tried ZA pro trial software for a bit and found it to be almost too scary with its messages. I think what I would like to see in any of these programs is a bit more information about what is really happening in language that an average user (me - that is) could understand. I can use things like Sysinternals to help me figure out whether something should be running or not but it would be oh so nice if the original warning message said more. And yes, I click on the more information which takes me out to the firewall's site and gives me four tabs to muddle through but sometimes I wish it could just be easier! But that's me this morning without my first <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48> And I am not a programmer so I don't know what the hassles are concerning warning messages, etc. I should just be happy there is anything around that does stop all the bad stuff!! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    Since I rambled a bit, I need to get back on track and say that I did go back to CA eTrust EZArmor a few days ago and do have the suite. So far the settings are holding this time. It is v5.1 however. I just checked CA website and it is asking for ID and password which I don't have since this came through RR. So it is back to RR to see how I get this updated properly! Thanks for the alert! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> I may as well have the latest and greatest! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •