Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chatham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Unable to use restored files

    Ive been using ntbackup on XP home for some time now. The files are located on a central file server and the backup on a workstation The files are mostly QuickBooks and ProFile (tax software)

    When I tried to restore a file I was unable to restore it to the original location as it reported that it was unable to create the directories. When I restored to an alternate location it did so complete with the relevant part of the directory structure. However when I went to access it I got the 'file open' error from within the program and 'file locked' from within Windows Explorer.

    I've tried the limited options available in Restore but to no avail. Any ideas where to look next?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unable to use restored files

    Rick,
    It sounds like there are pointers within the original apps themselves or in the registry that are looking for the files to be in the original location and not in the alternate spot.
    Are you trying to restore a complete copy of the apps or just a file or two? It sounds like you are trying a complete restore.

    I think you will be required to reinstall the apps from their source CDs again. Then restore only the data files from NTbackup.

    NT Backup showing WHY it isn't a very good way to do file backups from XP ( or 2000 ). I would suggest an alternate method such as an "Imaging" program from Acronis or other Imagers that are out there.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chatham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unable to use restored files

    Bob
    I was attempting a single file restore just as a test to verify the integrity of the backup. At first I was restoring a single tax return (ProFile) but when it failed I tried a company file (QuickBooks) with the same result. There are some documents and spreadsheets too but I didn't try them.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unable to use restored files

    Rick,
    Not having used ntbackup for a LONG time, I can't recall any options that might get you out of this.
    Can you try to restore to another machine on your network?
    Only other thing I can think of, is a corrupt back up copy.

    Perhaps someone else can jump in here that can offer some alternative?
    Does anyone still use ntbackup out there?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to use restored files

    Were the files in use when you backed them up? It may be worth testing what happens with a backup and restore of a simple text file.
    Can you check their attributes are not set to read-only?
    Have you re-booted after the restore?

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chatham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unable to use restored files

    Leif:
    The files were not in use. I'm almost 100% certain that all files were inactive and 100% sure that 2 of three would have been.
    I'll try a text file tomorrow if I can get to that client.
    The files and directories are not read only.
    I tried a reboot with no success.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chatham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unable to use restored files

    Bob:
    I've only got backup on one station. Something I hadn't tried was restoring to the original machine. I tried restoring and copying to the original machine but that didn't work either.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Griffith, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to use restored files

    I had a similar problem. I had accounting package files that needed to be restored to a previous day - without the processing. So the files existed.

    ntbackup will not restore over existing files. I renamed the directory with the files, then restored. Bingo.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to use restored files

    Every restore program I've used has had these two stipulations to minimize the failure rate of a restore:

    1. The restored file must be sent to a different drive, not on the drive you're restoring from, and
    2. You must not have already attempted to restore the file to the same drive...why? <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unable to use restored files

    Jeremy,
    ------------------------------------
    You must not have already attempted to restore the file to the same drive...why?

    -----------------------------------------
    That one has got me. I don't think I have ever tried that or seen that message?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unable to use restored files

    Bob,
    I've misspoken a little...the error wasn't from the program, but from sites explaining why I receive corrupt files after restoring... I don't know why, but it is definitely discouraging. I can speculate that since the file has been touched before, and to the same drive, it's being restored to the same drive that it's currently on...doing something to corrupt it....
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What&#39;s more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chatham, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unable to use restored files

    NTBackup has never given me a problem in either restoring to original location (provided that you set it to overwrite) or restoring elsewhere. This appears to be restoring or creating some kind of permission.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •