Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    To SP2 or not to SP2? (Office Pro 2003)

    Having seen dire warnings at first that there were problems with Office 2003 SP2, I wonder whether Loungers think that the issues have now been resolved, or whether it is wise to hold off a bit longer before going for it? I am presently on Office 2003 SP1, running Windows XP Home SP2.

    Ian

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: To SP2 or not to SP2? (Office Pro 2003)

    Most of the problems related to installing SP2, in particular problems with the Local Installation source. See Office Watch Vol 10 No 35 for details.

    The 2 suggestions that you should check before installing are that you have Windows Installer 3.1, and run the Local Installation Source Tool to make sure your source files are intact.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: To SP2 or not to SP2? (Office Pro 2003)

    Thanks. I'll try it, I think.

    Ian

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: To SP2 or not to SP2? (Office Pro 2003)

    So I have Windows Installer 3.1 - i checked. I downloaded the LIS tool though I haven't yet run it. I don't have the installation files on my HDD at the moment. It wants my program CDs, which I have available, but if I go ahead with that, what happens about the updates (i.e. SP1) that I have already installed? If I don't have a LIS at the moment, does that mean that there can't be a problem with source files not being intact so I should be OK anyway (as I can insert the CDs if required)?

    Ian

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: To SP2 or not to SP2? (Office Pro 2003)

    SP-1 is included in SP-2. The installer should ask for CDs as required.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: To SP2 or not to SP2? (Office Pro 2003)

    Thanks to both of you for the information. The upgrade went smoothly and didn't ask for the CDs at all.

    Ian

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: To SP2 or not to SP2? (Office Pro 2003)

    <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23> and thanks for posting back

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •