Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Seattle, Washington, USA
    Posts
    81
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Why is PC1066 RDRAM so expensive

    I'm in the market to upgrade my PC 1066 RDRAM and I'm surprised at how much more expensive it is compared to other RAM. I'd appreciate if someone could post their thoughts [for the technically limited] on why this is. For instance, a 512 mb PC1066 RDRAM is about $250 while I see 512 mb PC 3200 DDR RAM from Kingston for $30 after a $20 rebate!!!

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Why is PC1066 RDRAM so expensive

    My impression and personal experience (and there may well be other factors involved) suggest that as soon as RAM is no longer flavour of the month, the price goes up rather quickly. In part I think it's because the supply is diminished and its manufacture may well have ceased. My more conspiratorial instincts suggest it's all part of the deliberate built-in obselesence plot. Last time I indulged myself, I found that a 256MB memory upgrade was comparable to the price of a new mobo with 512MB of newer stuff already onboard!
    Definitely something rotten in <img src=/S/flags/Denmark.gif border=0 alt=Denmark width=30 height=18> me thinks. <img src=/S/sneaky.gif border=0 alt=sneaky width=15 height=15>

    Alan

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Why is PC1066 RDRAM so expensive

    The simplest answer is because it is a proprietary type of memory developed by Rambus and pushed by Intel - for a short time. When it was the new technology on the block, it was very fast but consumers balked at paying the high prices, so Intel caved to market pressure and designed their succeeding products to use the less expensive DDR SDRAM that is so commonplace. In addition Rambus memory had a few problems of its own that impeded acceptance, including heat and latency issues.

    Rambus (the company) also got itself into trouble down the road. Wiki has a decent write-up on the topic if you're interested.
    -Mark

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Why is PC1066 RDRAM so expensive

    RDRAM = Rambus = patents <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>

    Unless it's a video server or video editing station, I don't think one can justify the cost of this type of memory.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Why is PC1066 RDRAM so expensive

    Even then, I can't justify it what with the alternatives that are available!!
    -Mark

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Why is PC1066 RDRAM so expensive

    It used to be used on Dells of a certain vintage, such that now when I want to upgrade the RAMBUS memory on one PC at work I find that
    a) Crucial can't supply it, and
    [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] the memory upgrade would cost more on eBay than to buy a new PC!

    (Actually [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] is a bit of an exaggeration, but not much of one! We are going to buy the new PC anyway, because what can you do in 128 MB nowadays, but w a i t??).

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Why is PC1066 RDRAM so expensive

    Granted, if you are unfortunate enough to have a computer that requires that type of memory, you have little choice. I was careful to avoid the Intel products that featured this maligned memory type.

    What's this about working, anyway? I thought that you had retired!!
    -Mark

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Why is PC1066 RDRAM so expensive

    Isn't there a way to "not use" the slots on the motherboard and instead run the RAM off the PCI bus on an expansion card? I suppose there is a steep performance penalty to pay for that... maybe you can buy a used Dell of the same vintage and plunder it for the memory. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Why is PC1066 RDRAM so expensive

    Re: a). The fact that a lot of people aren't making it nowadays is most of the reason it's expensive. We threw away a computer last year with Rambus sticks and ended up giving the memory to one of the users, because she couldn't find any other way to upgrade her machine!

    New motherboard/cpu/Ram might be the upgrade that's called for here.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •