Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wireless gone buggy

    Up until yesterday, my wireless connection on this notebook worked fine. Now, I receive the Status: Limited or No Connectivity. It can see the network, but not access the web. I've reset the router, still nothing. Any tips?
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What's more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Wireless gone buggy

    Check the listings of ALL signals found and make sure that your are connecting to your own router. I have found that some machines will connect to a stray signal.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wireless gone buggy

    not a stray...it's mine.
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What's more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wireless gone buggy

    It can see the network...but can it interact with it?
    -Mark

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wireless gone buggy

    It's only for wireless internet at my house. I've reset the router, upgraded the firmware, wiped hardware memory from my cpu, cloned the mac address from my cable modem onto the router, and still nothing. My computer holds at 'renewing your IP address'. I can use cat-5 cable (which one computer and my XBox are ALWAYS on) and connect. I don't know where the problem is. I don't want to go out and buy a new router (though this time I'll spend more than $50 on it). It's a DLink DI-524 (just in case anyone has had a similar problem). I've been to their web site, it's not much help... I can barely understand any of their technical support reps, and most of them are on the web site with me anyways, clicking through the online manual in a rush to get me off the line.
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What's more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,196
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wireless gone buggy

    Replying to myself as an update: I've fixed it. I simply completed everything aforementioned, and I'm good now....
    ____________________________
    Jeremy
    "If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, then you will be hacked. What's more, you deserve to be hacked." -Richard Clarke

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •