3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Relationships (2003)

Hi,

I'm in the process (still!) of converting an unwieldy Excel workbook into an Access database, and I've hit a problem and could do with some advice. Please remember that I've never built a database before, so while I think it's mostly been built OK, it could need work!

What I have is bus service data coming in from a number of different local authorities. I've put this into a table called Services, which lists the owner of the service (on of a list stored in another table and linked, although I think that's irrelevant for this question) and the service code. Often, where a service goes from one authority area into another, I get duplications because both authorities carry the data, and I need to suppress one version. In Excel, I had one line for the service, and then different columns for each provider. I then annotated the service code in the appropriate columns by enclosing them in square brackets to show which was suppressed. That was visual, and worked very well. I'm having trouble, though, creating similar relationships in Access.

To start with, I put a "yes/no" field in the Services table for "suppress?". That's OK as far as it goes, but it doesn't tell me what it has been suppressed in favour of, which I also need to know. I then put a field in the services table to list that, but while I can populate it manually, I can't make it a relationship back into the same table which would be the ideal, I think. Next I tried creating a Suppression table, which contained the ID of the service to be suppressed, and the ID of the service that is has been suppressed in favour of. However, that requires both fields to link to the ID field of the Services table, and when I tried that I got Services and Services_1, which appears to be a separate copy of the Services table. Or is it? I wasn't entirely clear whether it was a real copy, or a pretend copy just for the purposes of making relationships.

Help!