Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Internet Access Issue (XP Pro SP2)

    I have a problem on my machine that appeared early this morning, midway through a surfing and download session. I'm not aware that I made any changes but, part way through the session, the download froze and I found I couldn't access any websites. I use Firefox by default (v 1.5) but keep IE6 because, without it, CHM compiled HTML help files don't appear to work. The situation was the same in both browsers.

    If I access a secure site, however - one using the HTTPS protocol - I can access them, log in and surf to my heart's content. Also, browser independent application that access the net, such as Symantec Live Update, work correctly, albeit somewhat slower than I'm used to, (or is it me? - I usually let them run in the background and don't watch them. Today, I had little alternative!).

    I'm currently using Opera through a Windows 2000 machine to write this, but connecting to the Internet using the same hub and cable modem, which leads me to believe the problem is on the Windows XP machine. I'm about to run a full Norton Anti-Virus pass followed by a deep-scan by ZoneAlarm Pro, but these things take time and I don't know whether they'll find anything.

    Can anyone offer a suggestion as to what may have changed or gone awry to result in this problem?

    Many thanks.
    Regards,

    Steve

    "A good friend will help you move; a really good friend will help you move a body"

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: Internet Access Issue (XP Pro SP2)

    Have you tried a re-boot? Or it could be your browser has been hijacked. Seems as though scanning with the usual tools is in order.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Internet Access Issue (XP Pro SP2)

    Could you have configured an invalid Proxy server on your Windows XP system? I guess this would have to be configured differently for each browser, but could cause the symptoms you describe.

    To check this for Internet Explorer, Tools > Internet Options > Connections > double click the connection you are using

    StuartR

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Essex, England
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Access Issue (XP Pro SP2)

    Thanks for your responses, Joe and Stuart. I'd tried several re-boots alrerady, all to no avail. I'd reinstalled Firefox and even performed a System Restore back to last Friday, (incidentally, the first System Restore I've ever got to report success!). Still no joy.

    I let a Norton Anti-Virus pass run overnight but nothing was found. I was going to do the ZoneAlarm Pro deep scan tonight, (it takes ages to run) but, frustrated, decided to try something different this morning. I power cycled the router.

    Wouldn't you know it, but this worked! I've no idea what or how the router config changed to filter out non-secure sites and allow HTTPS sites to pass, but whatever it was was reset by the power cycle. I guess I should have checked this before posting but the fact that I could connect at all made me not suspect the router.

    Thanks again for your response chaps. I appreciate your help.
    Regards,

    Steve

    "A good friend will help you move; a really good friend will help you move a body"

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Saco, Maine, USA
    Posts
    293
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Access Issue (XP Pro SP2)

    Hi Steve,
    Having gone for two years with an ISP that used ancient DSL equipment, I can verify that rebooting the modem and router often helps in situations such as this. I haven't had to reboot often since I switched ISPs -- maybe five times in a year, but well remember what it was like having to reboot the entire system three or four times a day -- just to be able to surf. Their entire server system was junk! It wasn't my fault at all... My point is that the problem may well be on your ISPs end. It also could be a problem with your modem; it may be faulty.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Montello, Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Access Issue (XP Pro SP2)

    As one who has gone through a similar experience, I suggest you call your internet provider first. By all means try the rebooting of modems, computers, routers ect. But then call your provider. I had a similar problem that I worked on for a couple months. I took all the advice I recieved here and tried everything. It turned out that my provider had changed some setup numbers without telling anyone. After I entered the new DNS numbers, I was all fixed and months of work and fixing this and that was all for nothing. it's worth a try.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •