Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Clemente, California, USA
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Internet-Yes Network-no???

    I have just installed laptop which will not join the network. It has internet access just fine. I have run the network setup wizard several times, adding or deleting print and file sharing, changing the workgroup name. I am now back to what it should be to match the rest of the network... All the computers have the same workgroup. This laptop will not even see itself. The 'My Network Places' always is empty and any effort to access the entire network freezes the window. I be pulling what little hair I have left right out. I have run winsockfix.exe and still - nada.
    Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.
    I will not be able to try any of the solution until tomorrow but will listen to all replies.
    Thanks
    Gaddy

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Internet-Yes Network-no???

    Most of these appear to be "FIREWALL" issues. Check your firewall settings on ALL machines to see if any or all IP addresses are blocked.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Clemente, California, USA
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet-Yes Network-no???

    I have disabled the firewalls and am only using the router firewall. 2 other computers can see each other just fine. This lap top doesn't even display it's own shared folder.. It makea me crazy.
    Gaddy

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Internet-Yes Network-no???

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by DaveA on 06-Jan-06 10:01. )</P>When ever you disable ANY third party Firewalls, the Windows Firewall will kick in.

    Are you sure that you disabled the Windows Firewall also?

    Edit:
    Also, you have NOT stated what the OS's are of each machine and what SP have been installed.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Clemente, California, USA
    Posts
    112
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet-Yes Network-no???

    I am sorry not to have closed this out. I ended up UnInstalling all the network configurations, the driver, and the protocols. Upon reboot it found the hardware set up the driver anew. I ran the network setup wizard, Disabled the firewall and all is well. I really don't know exactly what it was but this worked.
    Again I apologize for leaving this hanging. Beside I want to post a new question so loose ends are bad.
    Thanks

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Internet-Yes Network-no???

    Thanks for getting back to us.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •