Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    The accountant's computer!

    Hi, again, everyone,
    I appreciate your input with the back-up issue; pretty standard stuff but when it's someone else's business, I need to be sure. Okay, I've learned more and it's not good. The computer will not allow defragmentation (space is not the problem) and will not allow a scan disk. Could not get anything from Google. What do you think this is pointing to? (Nothing good . . .)

    As always, thanks for your time and interest. Checking out Acronis now!

  2. Subscribe to our Windows Secrets Newsletter - It's Free!

    Get our unique weekly Newsletter with tips and techniques, how to's and critical updates on Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows XP, Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google, etc. Join our 480,000 subscribers!

    Excel 2013: The Missing Manual

    + Get this BONUS — free!

    Get the most of Excel! Learn about new features, basics of creating a new spreadsheet and using the infamous Ribbon in the first chapter of Excel 2013: The Missing Manual - Subscribe and download Chapter 1 for free!

  3. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: The accountant's computer!

    What error messages, or any messages, are you getting? No way to say what's happening without knowing why it stalls...
    -Mark

  4. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: The accountant's computer!

    Whatever the reason, you need to sort out the backups FIRST. Then take a backup of this disk.

    How much free space is there on this disk?

    StuartR

  5. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: The accountant's computer!

    I agree with both Mark and Stuart. The backup is absolutely the first thing to do to preserve the data and we need more information to begin.

    If there is no space on the drive to install a backup program (unlikely from what you say in your post) or you are unable to install a backup program due to drive errors or other problems, the best course would be to remove the drive from the computer and install it in the new machine as a slave. This is a relatively simple process, but if you feel that it may be beyond your expertise and the data is valuable to the owner check this Google search for how-to's on installing a slave drive. Then copy the data to the new computer starting with the most important first. I don't like to sound fatalistic, but if the drive is failing it could quit before you finish the transfer.

    Please post any additional information before you attempt to slave the drive up, as we may be able to resolve the problem and ge a good backup of the data without having to open the case. <img src=/S/crossfingers.gif border=0 alt=crossfingers width=17 height=16>
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: The accountant's computer!

    I support a Tax guy, and yes this is a very bad time of the year to do anything NEW.

    I have him burn CD of the different folders that have the DATA in them for the different TAX programs that he uses. He started doing this when he was using 95 then 98 and now XP. Since he knows what folder he needed to back up since 95 (used a Zip drivefor 95) he has not changed his method. He has added his "My Documents" folder and his "PST" file to a separate CD. I have him using Windows Explorer and "Right click" the folder and send to the burner. This works just fine and now he knows where his files are going, and each new tax year program is installed in new folders so he has ALL of his history including programs on his hard drive.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: The accountant's computer!

    First of all, many thanks for all of the information provided.
    I was hoping to do a mini-upgrade to this computer but after looking at the specs, the age of the motherboard (and the possible difficulty and cost of getting more memory) stopped me. Especially with a new computer already purchased.
    1.2 gig AMD Athlon; 20 Gig Hard Drive with 13.66 free space, 256 MB of memory --- not too bad if we upgrade the memory, add a USB 2.0 card for the new external hard drive and replace the CDR with a CDRW (not necessary, but useful! The problem is with the motherboard BIOS 07/15/97 Bus clock 66 mghz.

    My latest question then is this: What size external hard drive do we purchase? A 1.1 USB that is small for $100 or install a USB 2.0 card and purchase a large external hard drive still at a relatively low price. The twist here is that the new HP Media PC has its own removable backup drive so having an large external drive for back up in the future might be overkill for his needs.

    I think he should return the media pc and buy one more suited for the office but
    <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Thanks, again, for your help.

  8. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: The accountant's computer!

    First, remember that you can use a USB 2 device on a older USB 1 machine. It will run slower but when you connect it to a new machine with USB 2 it will work full speed. A extra external drive is NEVER over kill. I have used them for many reasons from machine to another. Currently we have 3 of them for 2 desktops and 2 laptops. One of them is small enough for it to travel with the laptops when needed.

    Is this drive that comes with the HP Media usable on any other type of machine?

    Get as large of one that one's budget will allow.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •