Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Reseda, California, USA
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Disable anti-virus (XP Pro)

    I've heard that you should "disable" or "close" your anti-virus program before installing new software.
    How do you do this? I've never gotten a good answer before. Thanks for past help

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Disable anti-virus (XP Pro)

    Maybe you've never gotten a good answer because there are as many ways to disable it as there are anitivirus packages. For Norton/Symantec, it's as simple as a right-click on the tray icon. For others, well, you'll have to consult with other users or <img src=/S/rtfm.gif border=0 alt=rtfm width=24 height=23> to discover how.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Disable anti-virus (XP Pro)

    What AV program are you using?
    Different ways to do it depending on which program you use.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Disable anti-virus (XP Pro)

    And, I have two more asides while we're wondering WHERE you asked and didn't get an answer, 'cuz I can't find a post like that from you here in The Lounge. Your profile says you're trying to "...keep Win98 running..." and you're in the XP forum. Is your profile down-level? Also, in your profile, there is a Tripod link that not only yields NOTHING, but it sends my browser off on a tangent of not so nice pages. If you don't have a Tripod page any more, it would be nice if you removed the bad link.

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Reseda, California, USA
    Posts
    216
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Disable anti-virus (XP Pro)

    Sorry Big Al, I am guilty of not doing what I should, and will fix it soon. I bought a new computer with XP on it, and bought AVG as the anti-virus, hence the question.
    AVG is the one I was asking about, if that helps.........I thought there was a common way to disable or shut down, or whatever to load a new program - - shows how
    much I know, eh?And, for the record, I sure didn't mean to imply I didn't get a good answer HERE......that has never happened - - I'll try to watch my words in the future.
    Hope this clears up part of the confusion.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Disable anti-virus (XP Pro)

    Well, that makes it somewhat more clear. Now you'll have to wait to see what an AVG user has to say about disabling. I don't use the product.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Disable anti-virus (XP Pro)

    I don't use AVG myself, but have had some experience with it. If I recall, there is an AVG icon in the System Tray that you can right click on and get an options window something like the screenshot. HTH.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •