Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Use MDE to store module (XP)

    I am not actively doing this, just something I came across at work last week.

    We have outside company that had done some work for us and had created a reporting dtabase from a server side application for 2 users who wanted just specific data to report on and did not want full access to the main application.

    They had created a front end Access database with a couple of linked tables a few queries and a form. The data in the backend was formatted in a specific way and for the reporting database to show this data correctly they had to write a few functions.

    They stored these functions in a module, in a second database which they had converted to an MDE (presumably to protect their intellectual property) and then in the front end database referenced the MDE. This works fine.

    Question is, is this standard practice and can you see any problems with this concept? ( We will assume that the front end and MDE are the same versions, as this is where I stepped in and found the problem after an upgrade)
    Jerry

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    I don't know if it is standard practice, but it is a valid way of providing code and protecting it. If the MDE has been tested thoroughly, it should work well. The downside is that you are completely dependent on the outside company for all bug fixes, modifications and customisations.

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    >he downside is that you are completely dependent on the outside company for all bug fixes, modifications and customisations.

    Yes, I agree and that is where the crunch happened as their developer had "forgotten" to upgrade the MDE. Thankfully that is how I discovered this little gem <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    We are moving away from Access in my company as there are a lot of hooky databases sitting on local PC but we still have to use them for smaller departments and was thinking this could be a neat little 'fix'. I find that when databases are created they have a habit of duplicating as they get sent around on email or across shares and we are forever getting calls to fix them, which we won't. It has got me thinking, thanks
    Jerry

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    I wouldn't call it a standard practice. But it is a perfectly valid and reasonable approach. I've looked at doing this myself several times, but I try to avoid extra references as this is just raises another possibility of problems.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    Thanks Mark
    Jerry

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    We have taken Access off all the standard builds since Win 2K and now XP. It will only placed on users PC's if the need arises and there is a business case.

    Due to the nature of our business we are going over to CRM systems that will all be web-based applications via our SQL cluster. The IT department has nothing against Access per se just the matter of finding the resources to sustain them. If the IT department builds them, we are effectively responsible for the upkeep and repair if need be.

    Introducing Access to the user PC can and does cause massive problems when we have the so called Acceess "expert" who has been on a two day course, in a business department who goes off and decides he/she knows better than the IT professionals and builds a complete crock. Also by having hundreds of disparate databases is a complete nightmare as the data is often duplicate stuff and there was a corporate dictum that stated all data should be centralised to stop this duplication
    Jerry

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    <hr>We are moving away from Access in my company as there are a lot of hooky databases sitting on local PC ... <hr>
    I hope that's not the real reason for moving away from Access - I know many IT departments view Access as a major pain in their <img src=/S/moon.gif border=0 alt=moon width=15 height=15> - but more often than not, the reason for the Access database is that the Development department couldn't deliver their functional needs in a timely or cost effective fashion. We've done a number of projects in Fortune 100 companies where they couldn't get their needs met inhouse. And most of them are still in use after a number of years. In addition, Access as a front-end to large database servers is nearly always the quickest way to get an application built.

    Anybody else care to chime in on the subject?
    Wendell

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    The only problem is that Microsoft is effectively pulling the rug out from under serious Access developers in the next version. Access is being relegated to a power user tool, which will make it even less acceptable to IT departments. My company is moving our apps from Access to VB.Net for that very reason. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    Charlotte- in what way? I have not been following the news on the next veresion.
    Thanks if you have the time to describe

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    You can read about the future of Access in A discussion of what's new in Access 12.

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    Microsoft keeps saying they're making things easier and Access will still be a developer's tool, but they also categorize the future of Access as a "landing pad for data", rather than a database. The strong indications I've received from beta testers, who cannot officially say anything at all, is that powerusers are the true target audience, not developers. The Access group at Microsoft may think differently, but they don't have final control over the direction of the product.
    Charlotte

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    I think Access suffers a little like the early PC's suffered. Instead of the IT department having control of all things computerized, individual departments were making their own computer decisions, and paying for it out of their budgets, not IT. So anything that IT couldn't control, they scoffed at.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    Thanks for all the responses

  14. #14
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    Oooh, I might take you up on that last bit. Yes, if a department went off and bought in an Access based application and were using it, as designed and had a service level agreement with that third party, my IT department has no problems with it. On the other hand if a department has a person who has developed one and it goes awry because users have mucked around with it or it is designed wrong and they request the work from our department, then we will refuse to do the work. As soon as we touch it and make changes it automatically becomes an IT responsibility in the future.

    If you have these applications around all over the place then it can pull our resources away from the bigger picture.

    This is by no means an IT v Access viewpoint as it is the same for all Office applications where but it does appear that Access is the greatest problem for resource pulling from the IT department and therefore the decision was to stop loading it on desktops.

    People who have got it loaded have been told quite firmly that if is a local application and they develop it they will not have support from IT.
    Jerry

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Use MDE to store module (XP)

    Based on what I've read, it appears they aren't really taking any developer capabilities away, other than perhaps replication which is it's own can of worms. And I'm encouraged that they are actually doing new development on Jet, even though we prefer SQL Server as the back-end in most cases. But lots of what seems to be driving the Access 12 changes is a series of field trips that the Access Group Program Manager took in 2002 and 2003. What they found, as many of us know, is that the largest database product is - you probably already guessed it - Microsoft Excel. And they found that people were trying to do lots of relational things in Excel, which of course iss quite awkward. So that seems to be where this "landing pad for data" came from. All that aside, I understand the dilema that IT departments find themselves in when typical users decide to start building databases. I'm glad I don't work in that area any more.
    Wendell

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •