Silver Lounger
    Thanks

'Work Offline?' Annoyance (XP SP2)

A few days ago, I initiated a thread on this board dealing with which updates to install via Auto Update. I think that one ran its course and is done. I mentioned there that maybe something that was happening might be related to the updating actions.

I'm not sure so I'm going to ask in a new thread.

I have my Auto Update on Notify Me. I downloaded a whole bunch of updates, including one I didn't want (Messenger, since I don't use it). I never installed it nor do I intend to. I've set the action to don't install, hide it, don't ask again. (Aside: can I just delete the folder this update is in so XP doesn't even know of the existence or is there some other way to get rid of the knowledge of the existence of this update on my system?).

At roughly the same time that I started playing with Auto Update, I started getting the message per the attached screen shot. At first I thought it was related to the Messenger update. I don't think it is any more. When I click "work offline," there's no content to view (nothing happens). If I click "Try Again", nothing happens. Even tho I told XP not to bother me with the Messenger update, I still got the message. I also thought it might be some glitch that might go away with a restart, but it didn't.

Any ideas on how to get rid of this annoyance?

TIA

Fred

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

Re: 'Work Offline?' Annoyance (XP SP2)

Routers typically will disconnect you after a period of inactivity. Do you have a router?

Joe
    Joe

Silver Lounger
    Thanks

Joe,

Yes, my computer is a laptop that connects to a w'less router that accesses the internet via DSL. Not sure how that helps because: