Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    I'm up for renewal with my Trend Micro in less than a week, and I guess I've put this decision off long enough.
    I really haven't had any trouble with the product (I installed AV and Firewall) although I have trouble navigating through the firewall screens. But maybe that's just me.
    I get annoyed with the popup that commandeers the PC whenever there's an update - and I always wonder if I'm downloading the same update more than once, there seem to be so many of them. But I understand that's not really a problem, unless they are duplicates - I'd rather have a product that is on top of things than one that waits a little too long for an update.
    I just set up a new PC and I was experiencing internet cxonnection slowness on my cable connection - so when tonight I had an email problem to call my ISP about I had them check my connection speed. They told me it was fine, and led me to the Bandwidth meter on CNET.com. This test took a few minutes but it ended up telling me my connection was 9.2 kbps! These results came through after I hung up with the ISP though. They said the slowness I have is due to my firewall, but about the only setting I can find that would affect that is the type of connection, and mine is set to Direct Connection.
    I have serious doubts about whether or not it is my Firewall causing this, and their telling me my connection is fine only accounts for the potential speed of the connection, not any configuration on my end. And in setting up my new PC I probably screwed up one or more aspects of my connection exclusive of the firewall. (downloading the Windows XP SP-2 patch took around 15 minutes.)

    Anyway, sorry for the rambling. What I'm really trying to ask is if Trend Micro is still top of the line for AV and Firewall, or if I should maybe look in another direction this year. I've read posts saying how people are using combinations, but I don't think I read any conclusive opinions, as I have in the past, on what is the recommended AV or Firewall program. I don't mind paying if the product is worth it, but I don't want to pass by free products either.
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    I've been testing AV solutions since I decided to avoid installing Norton ever again, and I've been very pleased with Avast. Trend Micro's offering did not impress me much for the reasons you cited, but Avast is almost invisible. To boot the personal edition is <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> so you may want to consider it.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    I use AVG on my home computers. I can't say I've had any problems with it. I could do without the pop-up when it's downloading and scanning, since it tends to interfer with me starting up the media computer, but for a free product, I can't find reason to complain,

    At work we use the symantec corporate edition. Besides all the cool "central management" features it has, it has one very user firendly thing that I haven't seen in AVG. If you right click on the system tray icon you can temporarily disable the "real-time scanning." This is great if you are like me and frequently unpack archives, install and deinstall programs, and can't afford to have the AV program mucking about in those operations.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??


  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    > I get annoyed with the popup that commandeers the PC whenever there's an update

    You can turn that off in the 2005 version (not sure which version you are using). Mine updates silently.

    I do legal work for Trend Micro, so I guess I'm biased, but it does consistently get good reviews when compared against its major competitors.

    If you want to take a chance on something new and free, Microsoft has opened up a public beta of Windows OneCare. See http://www.windowsonecare.com/prodinfo/Default.aspx for more information.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    > If you right click on the system tray icon you can temporarily disable the "real-time scanning."

    Wow, I would never allow that in our office! (Anyway, I never turn off AV during installation and have never have any AV-related problems... YMMV)

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    We use McAfee at work and we can do the same thing with real-time scanning.
    I only do that when I need to start up OpenView, which otherwise would take about 3 minutes to open. You know the drill - it's so slow in opening that you begin to doubt that you successfully double-clicked, so you do it again, and that makes it even slower because now you're opening up two sessions...
    We have a few EXTREMELY resource-comsumptive apps that I sometimes do that with (but never during an install). And of course when things get busy I can forget to turn the scanning back on... <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15>

    Thanks for the input - I'd like to stick with TrendMicro. The only problem now is that I really have no idea where that slowdown is coming from. Do you think it might be the firewall after all? I don't see any obvious settings that might restrict the dataflow, but I can't think of anything else that would cause it. Since I'm assuming you use TrendMicro, can you think of any settings I might have overlooked? It is essentially running straight out of the box at this point.

    Thanks!
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    I'm a TrendMicro user BUT only the antivirus component of the product. I recently decided to engage their firewall too (see <post:=538,057>post 538,057</post:>) and had a mess of trouble. So, I went back to the Sygate firewall and eventually switched to ZoneAlarm. My point is that I've been VERY satisfied with the unobtrusive performance of the TrendMicro AV product and plan to renew next month, continuing to use only the AV product.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    There's a pretty good case with Netware that shows why something like this might be necessary. The program that launches Netware after boot is callled SERVER.EXE.

    Unfortunately, some AV products classify this file as "always bad" and will delete it when found. Like when you are unpacking an archive service pack. It's entirely possible for this to happen wihout the user noticing. Then, the service pack is applied to the Netware server, but without the correct server.exe file. Presto, downed server. It's actually not an uncommon problem.

    I'm pretty certain that the disable function is not availableto common users. And in any event, we have it configured to turn back on automatically after 20 minutes or so. Seems to work for us. The only real worry we have is when new mail viruses hit fast and Symantec doesn't have a LiveUpdate for it yet.

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger djmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    371
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    You know, by now I should know better than to be surprised with the quality and volume information I get from these forums. Just my childish innocence, I suppose. <img src=/w3timages/icons/tongue.gif border=0 alt=tongue width=15 height=15>
    I'm using a router - and the info in your other thread, Al, makes it pretty clear that is why I'm having this severe slowdown problem. I simply neglected to remember I'm using a router and never added that info to the firewall.
    However, since you've abandoned TM in favor of (eventually) ZoneAlarm - my only question is which version of ZoneAlarm you use? The Free personal edition or one of their other options? And does anyone have any feedback on the value of one of their packages versus the others? I don't mind paying for a product that does its job well, but I'm not opposed to using a free product either, if it does just as good a job. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>
    Have a cookie -

    Don

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    Interesting that you should ask, Don. Check out <!post=this other thread,545,847>this other thread<!/post> where I was looking for comments on Zone Alarm free as opposed to the "Pro" ($$$) product. I think there is SOME agreement with my assessment that the free version gives one all the security needed and the Pro adds features that might already be provided by AV products or email spam control. Hang in there...

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    Don,
    As Al mentioned in his post, I use and vote for the free version of ZA. Does a good job and you can't beat the price!
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    Funny that this should come up again. I threw caution (and past bad experiences) to the wind and installed the ZA freebie. Works great, yup, indeed it does. But dammit, it's still not configurable, and I've yet to find a way to allow a range of trusted IP addresses from my internal LAN on it. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15> Oh well, back to the old drawing board.

    By the by, what did they go back to before drawing boards??
    -Mark

  14. #14
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    369
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    If it's configurability you want, you really need to try the Kerio (ex Tiny) free offering.

    It has its problems, and there's a smattering of bizarre problems with network access in the newsgroups to which the only answer appears to be to use another firewall, but it offers unparalleled granularity of control. I think Sygate had similar, but as it led to fatal crashes every time I tried to install it, I never got to find out.

    The Kerio paid version is a mess as it adds lots of unnecessary functionality.

    One word of warning if you want to try it - keep a backup of your config file (it's plain text) as you come close to the one month trial expiry date for the added options, as one occasion my config was wiped as this date passed. That's the only problem I've ever had with it, and I love the fact that I can control access in and out by application (MD5 controlled), IP address, port and protocol.

  15. #15
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Renew Trend Micro? or switch to ... ??

    Open ZA, go to the Firewall section, select "Firewall" on left side, then the "Zone" tab.
    Select the "ADD" button, then select "IP Range".
    Enter data as needed, "OK" and "APPLY".
    The apply is to the right of the edit button, on the Zone tab pane.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •