Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    URGENT! message when database starts up (2000)

    I am getting an error message on the screen when the database starts up , see screen shot.

    Any help would be appreicated.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    602
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: URGENT! message when database starts up (2000

    Your Startup form (or one of it's subforms) has an On Mouse Move event which contains a call to a procedure called add_record_Click. Access is complaining that it can't find add_record_Click (it may have been deleted or renamed, for example). Does this help?
    Waggers
    If at first you do succeed, you've probably missed something.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: URGENT! message when database starts up (2000

    I have looked in the startup form and cannot see any evidence of this?
    see screenshot.

    Any other suggestions as l cannot use my database at present.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: URGENT! message when database starts up (2000

    Do you have any controls on your startup form that might make use of the MouseOver event? It would appear that you have more than one procedure called add_Record_Click - hence the ambiguous name. Try holding down Shift when you open the database, then see if you can compile it without error.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: URGENT! message when database starts up (2000

    Not that l can think of.
    The only controls l have are command buttons and l have checked all those.
    I am really baffled, any further suggestions would be appreciated.
    I cannot use my database so would really appreciated some assistance on how to resolve this issue.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: URGENT! message when database starts up (2000

    JJ

    Have you got any Modules in your DB that may have functions in them with conflicting names?
    Jerry

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: URGENT! message when database starts up (2000

    I think this is the case.
    I know what form they are in but don't know how to locate them.
    Any ideas as to how l would do this?

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: URGENT! message when database starts up (2000

    Open the database. Press Alt+f11 to open the VBEditor. Double-click on the relevant form in the project explorer (top-left of the editor) to view the code in its module and amend it as necessary.
    HTH.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: URGENT! message when database starts up (2000

    I decied to work this out by process of elimination by simply deleted the offending form as the user required the fix asap.
    Therefore can you close this thread.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hampshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    602
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: URGENT! message when database starts up (2000

    That's one way of doing it! Presumably, from <post:=550,679>post 550,679</post:>, you're still looking for a "proper" solution. Have you managed to locate the offending piece of code (as per Rory's instructions in <post:=550,288>post 550,288</post:>)? Does it contain a reference to add_record_Click?
    Waggers
    If at first you do succeed, you&#39;ve probably missed something.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •