Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    deleting cab files (windows xp home)

    I have a 10Gb HD that is almost full on an old laptop that is primarily used for surfing the net. I wanted to free up some space and was curious if I could delete the cab files for windows xp. I have the original XP disk if I have to do a restore or repair. Can I do this without causing problems?

    Thanks,

    HGman

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: deleting cab files (windows xp home)

    What CAB files are they and where are they located?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,571
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,056 Times in 925 Posts

    Re: deleting cab files (windows xp home)

    You should be able to delete the cab files. Have you also examined how much is being used by System Restore (Right click My Computer | Properties | System Restore)? How about the Recycle Bin (Right click then Properties)? How aobut the size of your Temporary Internet Files (Internet Explorer | Tool | Internet Options | Temporary Internet Files Settings)? What other unnecessary software has been installed? You might want to consider CCleaner - Crap Cleaner free software download - Spyware FREE or something similar which will examine your system and recommend files to delete.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: deleting cab files (windows xp home)

    I thought that there are cab files for windows and office. I thought they are for restoration of the program or for repair. Am I wrong on that? I am going to trim as much of the saved files as I can but most of the space is taken for programs.

    HGman

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: deleting cab files (windows xp home)

    Thanks Joe,

    I will give ccleaner a try.

    HGman

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: deleting cab files (windows xp home)

    You're not wrong on anything; CAB files are used by Microsoft (primarily) for pre-loading software. OEMs use them to distribute Windows and Office, among other applications, and leave you with a copy of anything necessary right there on the hard drive. So, long story short: they're not required for Windows to run as was noted before. You can look at their contents using Winzip or any other compression tool that can read the CAB format if you're curious.
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: deleting cab files (windows xp home)

    I see Joe and Mark beat me to the answer, so follow their good advice and get rid of the cab files.
    I just wanted to make sure you were talking about true Windows Cabs and not other compressed files.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: deleting cab files (windows xp home)

    But, without these CAB files, you will need to carry a copy of your Windows Install CD, so if ANYTHING asks for the System CD, you will have them. This also goes for the Office CAB files vs. the Office CD's. Also to rebuild your system you WILL need the System CD, which a lot of OEM do NOT provide, you must make them from your system or buy them from the OEM.

    My thought, these would be the LAST files I would delete.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: deleting cab files (windows xp home)

    Dave,
    But he said he only had a 10G HD and needed room on it. And he also said he had the XP CD, so with a little care, why not?
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: deleting cab files (windows xp home)

    <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> I missed that part.

    Yes, but he needs to make sure that it (the Windows CD) travels with the computer as well as the Office CD's. I have seen to many users on the road that needed them. Being that most laptops are a second install of the Office license, one tends to forget about that and updates on the road without CAB files, will REQUIRE the CD's.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: deleting cab files (windows xp home)

    All,

    Thank you much for the input. This is a laptop but I don't take it on the road. Since I have the CD's for the system to do a restore I should be OK.

    Thanks again,

    HGman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •