Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Blooming Grove, New York, USA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    No Sound (XP Home-SP2)

    Everything worked fine on Friday. Today (Sunday) I get no sound whatsoever. Switched speakers with a set that works on my other computer, still no sound. Checked Devices Manager, all sound system stuff seems to be working properly. Also did a System Restore to last Thursday thinking that yesterdays Windows Update caused a problem...no luck.

    I did do an uninstall of old Limewire files and reinstalled the latest version on Friday, but I recall that the sound was ok after the reinstall.



    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No Sound (XP Home-SP2)

    Ralph,

    Do you have a separate sound card or have the sound built into the motherboard?

    If separate, can you do a quick swap with another ( any old one ) sound card?
    If built in, did you check the BIOS to make sure the sound is still enabled?
    Check sound options to see if sound is not muted or turned down?

    I know it's basic stuff but then sometimes the obvious is over looked.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Blooming Grove, New York, USA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No Sound (XP Home-SP2)

    Hi Bob. Thanx for getting back so quickly.

    Sound options are not muted; they are set at half level or higher. As I noted in my query, Device Manager checks indicated that all is OK.

    I don't know if the sound card is built in or separate. How can I determine this? I have an e-machine T2200; about 3 years old. Don't know how to do a bios check nor do I have an extra sound card. Even if I did, I wouldn't know how to swap it and would be afraid to try.

    Regards!

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No Sound (XP Home-SP2)

    Ralph,
    It looks like the basic T2200 has a built in sound card ( AC 97 )

    You can get the latest drivers for that machine at: EMachine T2200

    Also get to tech support for emachines at : SUPPORT
    and give them your problem details.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Blooming Grove, New York, USA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No Sound (XP Home-SP2)

    Thanx for the info Bob. I tried finding the sound card but all that was downloaded when I clicked AC 97 Audio was a realtek player/recorder.

    Frustration is setting in so I wrote to e-machine support like you suggested. Lets see what they can do.

    I'll repost if they don't come through. Regards!

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No Sound (XP Home-SP2)

    Ok, lets see what they say and how long it takes for them to get back to you.

    BTW, the realtek PR is one that uses the AC97. ( or vice versa ) Try loading it.

    Post back with whatever the result is, since there is always interest amongst the Loungers as to the solutions to these problems.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No Sound (XP Home-SP2)

    It will be interesting to see what your emachine support says about your onboard sound device. I also have onboard sound and it has the VIA AC97 driver for it from VIA Technologies, Inc. The way it shows up in my device hardware manager is VIA AC'97 Audio Controller (WDM). I have been hunting for my install disks tonight but haven't located them. (Don't ask - my filing system at the moment stinks!) For some reason, when I had to reinstall last year, I think I got the audio drivers from the VIA Chipset 4 in 1 Driver disk? You might want to "explore" this disk and see if there is anything on there for audio drivers? But if you aren't sure what you might need, it may be best to wait and see what the support has to say about it! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No Sound (XP Home-SP2)

    Skitterbug,
    I think you may be right about the VIA chipset 4 in 1 drivers. I used to have a machine with VIA chipset and it seems to me that it included audio drivers as well. I can't be 100% sure though. <img src=/S/hmmn.gif border=0 alt=hmmn width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No Sound (XP Home-SP2)

    Hi Bob,

    If I could find my disk, I'd know for sure. I did download the version that the emachine site had, and they only show three of the four items in the menu choices for install. I am almost certain that my 4&1 disk had the audio stuff on it too. I also downloaded the files for the audio from the emachine site and tried it out. It says that it will load the audio drivers as well as the RealTex application. I am betting that the drivers are in that package but not singled out for a separate install option.

    I also found this site but I was a little hesitant to post it because I don't want to point to something that may not work. If it were me, I'd try it but hey, that's me. I figure if I mess up my system, I can either restore from a back up or start over again. Anyway I am really interested to see what kind of answer RAM gets back from his support group. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Blooming Grove, New York, USA
    Posts
    62
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No Sound (XP Home-SP2)

    Bob, Skitterbug, I got a reply from e-machine this morning with two suggestions. The easy sugg, which was basically a 'Safe Mode Uninstall & Reinstall' routine didn't work. The other sugg reqiired me to use CD 2 of the Complete Restore set to do a audio driver setup. That got the 'AC 97 Codec Combo' driver back working, BUT the Volume & Voice driver(s) and volume icon are now MIA. I reported this situation to E-machines and they replied saying I should back up all the important stuff on the hard drive and do a full restore. So I replied as follows:

    A. I don't know how to back up on a computer other than with discs or CDs;

    B. I have so much important info stored on my hard drive that it would take maybe 100 CDs to accomplish it; and lastly

    C. Since the Volume and Voice drivers that are now missing were present before I did the safe mode uninstalls &
    reinstalls, I don't see why a drastic complete restore is warranted."

    Will keep you all posted on results, or lack thereof.

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: No Sound (XP Home-SP2)

    Ok Ralph,

    You are getting there.

    Go to Control Panel>Sound & Audio Devices. This should open up a group of screens pertaining to Sound & Audio, of all things.

    First screen should have a box to check to place a volume icon on the taskbar.
    Then open all the other tabs and look at the various settings. Make sure none are Muted and reset all to suit your tastes.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No Sound (XP Home-SP2)

    Thanks for the update! Sounds like a lot of "hard work" but you are doing great! And I agree, there shouldn't have to be a reformat just to recover sound and voice files. The worse part about reformatting, is that sometimes you get all done and still have troubles with something not working the way you want! It is the very last thing I would ever do!! Hopefully someone at the emachine site will have a better answer for you! Good luck! <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •