Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    636
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    I
    Regards,
    Peter

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    You say the combo is unbound...yet you say it gets its row source from a query. This means that when you select a value from the combo, it is trying to write it to the queries source...a table. Check to see if the table field properties can accept the value from the combo, and adust it as needed.
    Regards,
    Rudi

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    636
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    Thanks Rudi. You are getting
    Regards,
    Peter

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    Does it help if you set the Allow Autocorrect property of the combo box (in the Other tab of the Properties window) to No?

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    636
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    Gidday Hans. No, makes no diff
    Regards,
    Peter

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    Row Source is not the same as Control Source, Rudi. The Row Source property is used to populate the dropdown list of the combo box. The combo box doesn't write to the Row Source. That the combo box is unbound means that the Control Source is blank, i.e. the value of the combo box is not stored in a field of the Record Source of the form.

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Cape Town, RSA
    Posts
    3,444
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    Indeed i am confused <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>...No need to thank me...as your question still remains!
    Soory

    PS: Thx...
    Regards,
    Rudi

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    I don't think we'll get to the bottom of this without seeing the form. Could you post a stripped down copy of your database? See <post#=401925>post 401925</post#> for instructions.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    636
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    Here it is. Open the only form there and click on the top combo in the detail section.
    Regards,
    Peter

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    What happens if you change the bound column to 1 or switch the order of columns so that the bound column is the first column?
    Charlotte

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    In the On Open event of the form, you call SetUpHelpsCats Me.
    In SetUpHelpsCats, you set the value of the cboCat1 combo box to the value of HelpsCategoriesYes from the qryBCKidzMeetAllocated query. This field is a text field, but the bound column of the combo box is the number field CatYesID. You should add CatYesID to qryBCKidzMeetAllocated, and assign this:

    AllocateFrm("cboCat" & Cntr) = ![CatYesID]

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    636
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    I changed it so bound col was 1 = the 1st col,, but it made no difference.
    Regards,
    Peter

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Patterson Lakes, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    636
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Combo box non valid value error (2002 SP3)

    Once again Hans you've saved my bacon. I spent a couple of hours looking for this and you went straight to it. Pure genius.
    Thanks again
    Regards,
    Peter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •