Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    500 Invalid PORT Command

    I'm at my wit's end and solicit help.
    I now have a small network - a Big Beige Box (BBB) and a Laptop (LT) connected by a SpeedStream 6500 wireless router; I'm not anywhere near using the wirless capability yet.

    The two machines share files quite happily - the BBB now controls the daily backup of the LapTop.
    From either machine I can read/reply to email using Thunderbird - with the BBB knowing that the mailboxes are stored on the LapTop.
    From either machine I can browse the internet using FireFox.
    Everything is sweet ... except ... I can't get WS-FTPLE to work.

    It logs on, so I know I can speak to the web server out there, it seems to accept my name and password, but seems unable to complete the DIR listing that would normally appear in the right-hand panel of WS-FTPLE.

    Windows firewall is OFF.
    ZoneAlarm is OFF.
    The modem is 192.168.2.1
    My Laptop is 192.168.2.10
    The BBB is 192.168.2.11

    Here's what I see from the WSFTPLE display:<pre>connecting to 209.161.204.100 ...
    Connected to 209.161.204.100 port 2101
    220 Microsoft FTP Service
    USER wise1ftpgreaves
    331 Password required for wise1ftpgreaves.
    PASS (hidden)
    230 User wise1ftpgreaves logged in.
    CWD /
    250 CWD command successful.
    PWD
    257 "/" is current directory.
    SYST
    215 Windows_NT
    Host type (S): Microsoft NT
    PORT 192,168,2,11,<font color=red>4,88</font color=red>
    500 Invalid PORT Command.
    ! port cmd failed.
    ! DoDirList failed 0</pre>


    Tyhe values represented by <font color=red>4,88</font color=red> seem to change on each attempt to Connect with the web server.
    I'm prepared to experiment, even to resetting the modem to factory defaults. What's bugging me more than anything, is that two months ago when I had just the BBB, everything was working just fine. It seems to me that in setting up the network, this novice has triggered some obstruction, unwittingly. Which brings us back to "wit's end".

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: 500 Invalid PORT Command

    A common cause of this symptom is if you have configured your FTP client to use PASV, and the server doesn't support this. Have a look at the settings in your client and try the effect of toggling this parameter to the other value.

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 500 Invalid PORT Command

    >A common cause of this symptom is if you have configured your FTP client to use PASV

    Thanks, Stuart. I take it you refer to "passive transfer". It was OFF, so I turned it ON and tried again. There was a different flurry of activity("10.10.3.47" etc. , but the end result was the same - the PORT command failed.
    Am I on target, do you think, in assuming that the PORT command that fails is trying to issue data (in this case my server's directory listing) back to me?


    <pre>WINSOCK.DLL: WinSock 2.0
    WS_FTP95 LE 4.50 97.05.17, Copyright

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: 500 Invalid PORT Command

    The remaining possibliity is that you have a firewall that isn't configured to understand FTP.

    FTP gets through firewalls completely differently to other applications. If you clear Passthrough then it connects from port 20 to the server, the server then connects back to port 21 on your client - and the firewall has to be configured to allow this.

    Exactly what firewalls do you have (hardware and software) and can you check their configurations to see if they allow FTP.
    Does FTP work properly to other servers?

    StuartR

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 500 Invalid PORT Command

    StuartR

    I am a little confused and this may be totally off base. but reading this something is not making sence to me.

    Windows firewall is OFF.
    ZoneAlarm is OFF.
    The modem is <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2> 192.168.2.1 <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    My Laptop is <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2> 192.168.2.10 <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    The BBB is <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2> 192.168.2.11 <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>

    <font color=red> Are these not IP addresses? </font color=red>

    Here's what I see from the WSFTPLE display:

    connecting to <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2> 209.161.204.100 ... <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>

    <font color=red> Where is this IP comming from? </font color=red>

    Connected to 209.161.204.100 port 2101
    220 Microsoft FTP Service
    USER wise1ftpgreaves
    331 Password required for wise1ftpgreaves.
    PASS (hidden)
    230 User wise1ftpgreaves logged in.
    CWD /
    250 CWD command successful.
    PWD
    257 "/" is current directory.
    SYST
    215 Windows_NT
    Host type (S): Microsoft NT
    PORT <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2> 192,168,2,11,4,88 <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>

    <font color=red> why are the port numbers the IP address for the BBB 192.168.2.11 I thought the port was 2101 as shown above </font color=red>

    500 Invalid PORT Command.
    ! port cmd failed.
    ! DoDirList failed 0

    <font color=red> I must admit I am not up to speed in this area but I thought a niave look might be of some help...... </font color=red>

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 500 Invalid PORT Command

    Two good questions, thanks. (Half of my problem is not knowing what questions to ask, where to poke a stick, ...)

    >Exactly what firewalls do you have (hardware and software) and can you check their configurations to see if they allow FTP.
    This morning I have:
    1. Reset the modem to factory defaults.
    2. WS-FTPLE

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 500 Invalid PORT Command

    > why are the port numbers the IP address for the BBB 192.168.2.11 I thought the port was 2101 as shown above
    Corey, like you I find the log file a strange land.
    When I connect to any other server (available to me through the WS-FTPLE drop-down list), I see log file entries (attached) with an IP address as part of the PORT command.<pre>257 "/" is current directory.
    SYST
    215 UNIX Type: L8 Version: BSD-199506
    Host type (S): UNIX (standard)
    PORT 192,168,2,10,5,187
    200 PORT command successful.
    LIST
    150 Opening ASCII mode data connection for /bin/ls.
    Received 1184 bytes in 0.1 secs, (110.00 Kbps), transfer succeeded
    226 Transfer complete.</pre>


  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: 500 Invalid PORT Command

    I think that the line

    192,168,2,10,5,187

    Is telling you that the outbound connection is from IP address 192.168.2.10, port 1462 (this is 187 plus 5 times 255)

    Remember, every connection is between two end points, each end point has an IP Address, a Port Number, and a Protocol (UDP, TCP)

    StuartR

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 500 Invalid PORT Command

    > the outbound connection
    Thanks, Stuart. That ties in with what I've gleaned from the IpSwitch web site:
    open the first available TCP port between 1024 and 5000

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •