Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Linked Paradox table (2000 SP-3)

    We have a database created wayback when Access 97 was the standard desktop database package. This database, imported tables in Paradox format (.db), and used these tables in queries, to create new and / or merge data to other tables within the Access database. This was all done originally, on a Windows98 PC.

    Three years ago, due to corporate PC replacement plans, the PC was replaced with a Windows2000 desktop, and Office2000 installed. The database at that time was run through the conversion option within Access 2000, and again, everything worked fine and dandy.

    Now for the problem <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>. It's replacement time again, and the PC is now a WindowsXP Pro desktop, but continues to have Office 2000 (SP-3). The database now however, doesn't link the Paradox tables correctly. I've attached a sample table (good and bad) in this post to show the difference.

    In the attached file, division1.rtf is the good link, showing 13 records of various data. The prob_division1.rtf shows the bad link, still with 13 records, but the data content is wrong.

    Both the current and new PC appear to be setup the same (other than OS). Any suggestions where I can continue my hunt to fix this problem?
    Christopher Baldrey

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Linked Paradox table (2000 SP-3)

    Does the PC have the Windows XP SP-2 with the latest updates? SP-2 contains a new version of the Jet Engine with some bug fixes related to Paradox.

    See MSKB article How to obtain the latest service pack for the Microsoft Jet 4.0 Database Engine. The version of MSJet40.dll for Windows XP SP-2 is 4.0.8618.0.

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linked Paradox table (2000 SP-3)

    Hi Hans,

    Yes, the PC is uptodate, with SP-2 installed. I've confirmed the MSJet40.dll is version 4.0.8618.0.
    Christopher Baldrey

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Linked Paradox table (2000 SP-3)

    This problem may be a sign that it's time to abandon Paradox. You could use one of the Win2000 PCs to convert the Paradox tables to Access (or SQL Server).

    (Yes, I did search further about your problem, but didn't find anything relevant)

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linked Paradox table (2000 SP-3)

    The paradox tables are from a third party application that collects fuel pump transactions from two sites. The main site, does its billings to external departments via the native third party application. Site 2, copies the updated tables daily to a local location, and then runs the Access database to bill their site to external departments.

    So, updating the paradox tables may not be doable. I will investigate further.

    Thanks for taking a stab at it Hans.
    Christopher Baldrey

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger SteveH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Chelsea, Gtr London, United Kingdom
    Posts
    587
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linked Paradox table (2000 SP-3)

    Just a thought from 'left-field' - how does Excel cope with those tables?

    If it reads them correctly you may be able to work some sort of import via Excel into Access? <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Steve H
    IT Lecturer/Access Developer
    O2K SR3/O2010; Win7Pro

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linked Paradox table (2000 SP-3)

    Hi Steve,

    A valid question, so I checked it out. Excel handles the table the same as Access. Nice idea though!
    Christopher Baldrey

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Linked Paradox table (2000 SP-3)

    Annoying as it may be, you might consider having Office and/or Windows reinstalled. Access should still be able to link to Paradox tables on Windows XP. I just tested it successfully, admittedly with Access 2002 instead of Access 2000.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linked Paradox table (2000 SP-3)

    I did try that Hans, but it didn't like it, for whatever reason.

    Note though, I did some searching via Google Groups, and came across a website with an installation file for the BDE - Borland Database Engine. Although Microsoft's Knowledgebase says it is no longer required, installing it did resolve the issue. The website can be found at http://ibinstall.defined.net/dl_bdeinfo.htm

    Go figure.
    Christopher Baldrey

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Linked Paradox table (2000 SP-3)

    I'm glad you found a solution!

  11. #11
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Linked Paradox table (2000 SP-3)

    Hey there Hans...

    Just thought I'd give an update on this little paradox of a problem (yes, pun intended <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>).

    The third party application collecting the transaction data has been updated, and now provides the ability to export data (all or nothing) in CSV format. Since we've had more WinXP machines deployed to our network, and other tables from the application were becoming un-readable by Access, I'm now exporting to CSV, and linking from there.

    It's also faster with the CSVs.
    Christopher Baldrey

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Linked Paradox table (2000 SP-3)

    That's good to hear - CSV is a fairly universal format.

    Thanks for the update.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •