Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,231
    Thanks
    40
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    System Restore (XP-SP2)

    Using search, I did find earlier post on same topic, but could not find an answer in the thread nor in the MS KB link kindly provided by Rebel. For the past couple of months, system restore will not work. No matter what restore point I choose, the message is "your machine could not be restored to that point and no changes have been made".

    I did try Disk Clean Up just now, removing all but the most recent restore point but got same result. There is no reason at the moment that I need this feature, but it has proven life-saving in the past and I really would like to get it back for when it is needed in the future. My technical level is low, but I can follow specific step by step instruction!

    Any suggestions, assistance or redirection greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    Several of the links in troubleshooting system restore xp - Google Search should be helpful.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    Hi Linda,

    First just some questions: Do you have any special tools program running; Norton SystemWorks, what kind of anti-virus program etc. I guess that system is up to date with patches. How is it with space on the hard drive(s)? How much is empty?

    Have you looked at this thread: <post:=479,867>post 479,867</post:> and checked if any information in Event viewer.

    At the moment, it is good that you are in no direct need for restore points (RP's). So, we will see if we can get this started. Since you already have run the Disk Clean Up, removing all RP's but the most recent, one early test could be to disable System Restore and then enable it again. This will however remove all RP's.

    I have to take short break now, but will see if anything comes up.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    I posted on this problem back in January. I have it, and haven't found any solution in the MS knowledgebase or any of the other suggested links. In the event viewer, all I got is a link to Microsoft Help and Support that told me:

    "Possible causes include:
    The restore point is corrupted.
    There is an unknown problem with the system.

    To try to restore the system again, do one of the following:
    Select a different restore point for running System Restore.
    Run the System Restore service in Safe Mode."

    Neither of these solutions worked. Presumably, "There is an unknown problem with the system," but this vague pronouncement doesn't help diagnose or solve the problem. I don't know what proportion of XPers have non-functloning SysRestore. I'd guess that most people don't ever try to use it, and so don't realize they've got the problem. I do have Norton SystemWorks (including Norton Antivirus) and Norton Personal Firewall installed, but running SysRestore in safe mode should eliminate any conflicts between Norton and SysRestore, shouldn't it?

    Terry

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    Did you try <!profile=Argus>Argus<!/profile>'s suggestion of turning system restore off, and then on again. This obviously won't help if you are desperate to do a system restore now, but if you just want to get it working for the future it may well fix the problem.

    StuartR

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    As Stuart and Argus point out, you are going to have to disable System Restore in Control Panel, thus deleting all previous restore points (useless now), and then reboot the machine and go back to Control Panel and restart System Restore and create a new restore point. If, as you say, you have no issues with your system at the moment, then this will not cause any problems. As for that reference in the error message about "an unknown problem with the system"; I would simply ignore it.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    Stuart:

    I did back in January, to no avail. If I do it now, I'll lose all the useful restore points.

    Assuming that few people actually try to use System Restore, the magnitude of the problem would be unkown. Could be major bugs in it that MS might not be aware of or consider important enough to address. Has anyone reading this used System Restore successfully?

    Terry

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    I have used system restore successfully, on a number of different computers.

    StuartR

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    <hr>I'll lose all the useful restore points<hr>
    Well, if you can't perform a restore using any of these restore points, they are not really very useful at all, are they?

    You mentioned that you had Norton System Works installed. Depending on what version of SW you have, Norton GoBack may be a part of this suite. Have you attempted to use GoBack?

    BTW, there are no "unknown" or "major" bugs in System Restore. I (and I'm aware of many others) have used System Restore successfully. "Assuming that few people actually try to use System Restore" is probably not a very valid assumption.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    TMorse,
    I'll chime in also saying System Restore does indeed work and I have used it MANY times successfully.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    Add another to the list of successful users. Many times on many machines for many different reasons. Didn't always solve the problem, but never did any harm.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    Well, I was fooling around with GoBack yesterday, but the documentation that comes with it is very thin, and I didn't want to commit to it until I new more about the post-reversion file recovery. Then I did something (not sure what) that caused GoBack to stop file logging, which erased the useful restoration points, so the issue was moot. Unfortunately, running Norton SpeedDisk also causes GoBack to stop logging, too, though that's not what I did this time. Under Win98, I used CyberMedia First Aid's Backtrack utility to recover from many problems. It did what Win XP System Restore is supposed to do, and apparently does do for many people. Unfortunately,. McAfee purchased First Aid and eliminated BackTrack from it.

    As in January, I restored a good registry from a recent back-up, but I sure would like System Restore to work for me. It would be much simpler.

    Terry

  13. #13
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    Take a look at this thread regarding System Restore.

    Can you be more specific about the types of problems you are having with System Restore. It is a pretty simple technology and shouldn't be causing you as much trouble as you are saying. GoBack is much more complicated and resource intensive, but also a much more complete restore solution.

    Edited by Doc to add.... It would make sense that GoBack stops logging when SpeedDisk is running. GoBack doesn't need to log the process of defragging your HD. It should resume logging when SpeedDisk is finished and the defrag is can be backed up completed rather than in progress.

    Also, from here....
    "The nopdb.exe process is used by Norton Speeddisk. By default this process is started automatically when your computer boots up. It can be quite resource intensive, so it is recommended to change the settings of the speeddisk component in Norton Utilities/Systemworks to be started manually."
    HTH
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    I am unable to conduct a system restore at all. Not sure where to start, but I've been experiencing lock ups on my computer, and recently downloaded AVG antivirus software, even though I already have McAfee (which i'm not happy with). I know JUST enough about computers to be dangerous, so is there a simple way of explaining what i should do?

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: System Restore (XP-SP2)

    Did you just download AVG, or did you also install it? You shouldn't have more than one anti-virus program running at the same time - that would be a certain source of conflicts. Either stay with McAfee and don't run AVG, or completely uninstall McAfee and run AVG.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •