Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    media player 10 (sp2)

    I have installed media player 10 but every time I try to rip a CD to mp3 I get a message that I do not have an mp3 encoder which I thought was part of media player 10. Anyone know whats going wrong please?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: media player 10 (sp2)

    Does section 6.5 in http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsme...player/faq.aspx help?

    Note: for some reason, a direct link to that url fails, but it works if you paste it into the address bar of your browser. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: media player 10 (sp2)

    Thanks for your reply Hans. Got the URL to work but can't see a section 6.5: am I being very stupid?
    Tusca

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: media player 10 (sp2)

    I too had trouble - even going directly. Had to try it three times to get the page. Are you sure you went down far enough on the page? That page is over 40 screenfuls long on my computer, so it's quite a ways down.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: media player 10 (sp2)

    It's quite a way down on the page. Here is a screenshot.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: media player 10 (sp2)

    Thank you very much will try it now
    Tusca

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: media player 10 (sp2)

    It worked! Thank you so much!
    Tusca

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: media player 10 (sp2)

    Which did you do change the "Registry" or just change the "Quality" setting?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: media player 10 (sp2)

    Dave,
    I changed the registry, why do you ask?
    Tusca

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: media player 10 (sp2)

    It could be useful to other Loungers experiencing the same problem to know which method worked for you. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •