Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: New hard drive

  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    New hard drive

    <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15> Hello all, I would like some info on my new drive, my machine only recognizes 127gig's of a 200gig drive, I will never ever use 200gig's but will the extra 73gig's i am missing speed up the machine any? My specs are below.
    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>
    Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 (build 2600) HP Pavilion 04 P5270A-ABA 7965 70000RE101AMAZO
    System Serial Number: US14356027 NA070
    Enclosure Type: Mini-Tower
    Processor a Main Circuit Board b
    1.70 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
    8 kilobyte primary memory cache
    256 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P4B-LA REV 1.xx
    Bus Clock: 100 megahertz
    BIOS: Award Software, Inc. 3.11 11/22/2001
    Drives Memory Modules c,d
    137.43 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
    121.33 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

    HITACHI DVD-ROM GD-8000 [CD-ROM drive]
    HP CD-Writer cd16f [CD-ROM drive]
    3.5" format removeable media [Floppy drive]

    ST3200822A [Hard drive] (200.05 GB) -- drive 0, s/n 4LJ2SKD5, rev 3.01, SMART Status: Healthy 768 Megabytes Installed Memory

    Slot 'DIMM 1' has 256 MB
    Slot 'DIMM 2' has 256 MB
    Slot 'DIMM 3' has 256 MB
    Local Drive Volumes

    c: (NTFS on drive 0) 137.43 GB 121.33 GB free
    jim ( tinman)
    retired sheet metal worker

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New hard drive

    No, you will get no speed increase from extra hard drive space. Think of it as more closet space to store your belongings. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    You apparently have a BIOS limitation in your system that is not allowing it to see the large drive you added. The drive should have come with something known as Dynamic Drive Overlay (DDO) software that will enable the full capacity of the drive. If not, you should be able to download it from the manufacturer's website.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New hard drive

    <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> Thanks wylly, I thought I did The DDO but will check again, Thank You
    jim ( tinman)
    retired sheet metal worker

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Yilgarn region of Toronto, Ontario
    Posts
    5,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New hard drive

    I've just rebuilt my system, Win XP (pro) doesn't recognise the 400 GB Seagate Barracuda drive - even 'though I've been using it as a 400 GB backup drive under WinXP this past month!
    The answer was, and is, to obtain all my WinXP updates. Takes about two hours. Once those are in place all 400GB are recognised.
    Hope this helps.

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New hard drive

    hey thanks, but i am up to date at microsoft. i think it has to be my bios but being a novice i'm a little afraid of not getting the right bios from ASUSteK, because it's an HP and some said they put limitations on the board to stem support calls and fixes. and i can not find my board on asus's website, i have a P4B-La rev 1.xx board and they don't list it.
    jim ( tinman)
    retired sheet metal worker

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New hard drive

    I know I'm late to the party here, but I have a hard time thinking that a Pentium 4 machine of your level would have a BIOS problem with large drives, in this day and age, but maybe it does. However, and in spite of the fact that you've already prepared and "loaded" the drive, are you willing to consider the purchase of a third-party partitioning program to take care of this problem? I know it sounds like a once in a lifetime purchase, but you'd be surprised at how much mileage you get out of a program like Partition Magic or Disk Director Suite. It so happens I've used both but am currently using the Acronis product. It has a "trial download" that may NOT let you change the layout of the drive until you BUY. But, at least it would let you know IF the space can be captured and used. And if it can, THEN you could decide whether to buy it or not.

    BTW, I'm also very much against the so-called special software provided by drive manufacturers for preparing drives. That's another long war-story, but you really ought to give a third-party program a look.

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New hard drive

    thanks Big AL, i went and downloaded the trial of aconis, it said if i buy it would give me additional space, i don't mind the money but just learning here.... <img src=/S/confused3.gif border=0 alt=confused3 width=45 height=45> i went into disk manager and partitioned the extra 53 gigs to a new volume logical drive?? <img src=/S/scratch.gif border=0 alt=scratch width=25 height=29> <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> how can i get my machine to recognize it.....and what can i do with it??
    jim ( tinman)
    retired sheet metal worker

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: New hard drive

    Is the extra 53 gigs possibly a recovery partition for you PC? I know you said it was a new hard drive, but possibly you meant to say a new tower or desktop ?

    It's a common problem at work, where the users will say my hard drive (or CPU) won't turn on, and we have to correct them about their terminology.
    Christopher Baldrey

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New hard drive

    thanks Chris, but no my pc is from 2001, i just installed a new 200 gig hard drive and my machine only recognizes 127 gig, plenty for what i need, and it was only $79 but hey why not try to get all the space it says it has....jim
    jim ( tinman)
    retired sheet metal worker

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New hard drive

    Sorry Jim, I haven't used the trial version, but I thought that for the trial it would let you operate just as normal, EXCEPT that it would not let you finalize the partition changes. So perhaps you did make a new partition, but the trial software didn't actually implement it so Windows still sees what was there before you started. You may have to actually BUY the software and get your license key in order to make the changes "final."

    Now, when and if you do so, remember that you still have to FORMAT any new partition, either as FAT32 or NTFS! And, with WinXP you can assign it a drive letter of your choosing.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New hard drive

    thanks Big AL, i discovered what my problem was: Tweak Ui, i had all the drives turned off <img src=/S/bash.gif border=0 alt=bash width=35 height=39> i have two partitions now, so, i can put my music or pictures on my new H: drive partition.
    AL, i have one more question how should i end this thread as to not bother anyone else trying to solve my problem?
    thanks again for the info.
    jim ( tinman)
    retired sheet metal worker

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New hard drive

    Jim,
    How do you end the thread?

    You just did, by advising that you solved your problem. Glad you got it solved. <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: New hard drive

    Amen, Jim! As Bob said, you did the job we wish all Loungers would do - we know that you're rockin'-n-rollin' and future Loungers searching will hopefully find your experience helpful to them. Good wishes on ya...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •