Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    Having downloaded MDAC 2.8 I tried to install it but get the attached error.

    At one stage a couple of months ago it seemed like I had a virus. In the process of fixing it I installed a new virus checker, uninstalled Office 2003 and reinstalled and tried the MDAC as the form's control wizards were not working.

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    What operating system are you using?
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    Windows XP SP2

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    This seems to be a problem that has occurred for others as well. There are some threads on the web but I couldn't successfully paste their urls in without the Lounge software changing some of the characters. Try a google search on MDAC 2.8 with the exact phrase "setup does not support" and you'll turn some up.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    You might also try reading through <!mskb=307255>Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 307255<!/mskb> and trying the component checker.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by patt on 10-Feb-06 11:48. Added extra info)</P>I tried the MDAC installer, after overcoming the earlier problem (you provided a good link to overcome the problem I was having), and it said that a file msado15.dll had an error registering this file.

    It installed everything else, but the form's control wizards are still not working.

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    The component checker does not seem to show any errors.

    Any other ideas?

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    I'm at a loss, Pat. I don't have Access 2003 installed, so maybe someone else will join the discussion with some ideas.
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    If the file exists, see how to register ocx - Google Search for several links on how to manually register an ocx.

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    Thanks for your time on this, I learn things from you despite the outcome.

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    I manually registered msado15.dll.

    Unfortunately this did not change the fact that the form's control wizards still don't work.

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    I'm not completely convinced this is an MDAC problem, Pat. Have you done a search on the control wizard problem?
    Charlotte

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    I have tried MSDN as well as the search in this forum and nothing has been of value.

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    In the last post in the thread starting at <post:=548,759>post 548,759</post:> you announced that you were going to completely uninstall Office 2003, then reinstall it. Did you actually do that?

  15. #15
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,594
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Re: MDAC 2.8 (Access 2003 SP2)

    Yes I did do that. I am getting around the problem because I know what's involved in most of the wizards, on the ones I don't know about I just copy the appropriate control from another database.

    However, this is a real pain, and want my wizards back.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •