Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    2 LAN connections

    I am going to buy a new desktop PC to which I will want to connect
    2 LAN cables. One will be a new dedicated DSL line that will be a datafeed
    for installed software. The internet will not be accessible on this line.
    The other will be an extention of the broadband internet connection that
    I now use. My current setup, that I want to keep as is, is BB > router > 2 PCs.
    My question is how do I connect both the broadband and dedicated
    cables to the 3rd PC, that has only 1 LAN port, so that I can run both the
    dedicated line and the broadband internet connections simultaneously on the 3rd PC?
    Would it work to connect the dedicated line to the LAN port, and then just run a cable
    from an open LAN port in the router to an incerted PC card? What possible setups are there?
    The new PC will have only 1 lanboard.

    Any advice you may have will be greatly appreciated.

    Gaijin

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,584
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: 2 LAN connections

    If you want (or must have) the two networks to be separate you need to NICs (network cards). NICs are pretty inexpensive.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 2 LAN connections

    Joe

    Thank you for your advice.

    In talkiing to the people who supply the datafeed through the ADSL connection
    they said that it could be done by connecting the ADSL cable to an ADSL router
    and then connecting the router to the 3rd PC via a switching hub. I would then
    need to connect my current router to the switching hub.

    Hope they're right!

    Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: 2 LAN connections

    I don't think that a "switching hub" will do this for you, I think you will need to have a router. You will then need to make sure that this router understands it has to send all Internet packets on a default route to the BroadBand, but that it has another route for packets to a specific known address for your datafeed.

    It's probably easier and cheaper to use 2 network cards for something this simple, but you still need to set them up carefully to prevent data being sent to the wrong one.

    StuartR

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 2 LAN connections

    Stuart,

    Thank you for your reply.

    If I used 2 network cards, do you think the PC would recognise both the
    Broadband and the ADSL so that they could be diplayed and operated
    simultaneously?

    Thank you again,
    Gaijin

  6. #6
    WS Lounge VIP rory's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Burwash, East Sussex, United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,280
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 191 Times in 177 Posts

    Re: 2 LAN connections

    That should be feasible. You should make sure that when you install the card connected to the new dedicated DSL, you do not give it a default gateway address.
    Regards,
    Rory

    Microsoft MVP - Excel

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: 2 LAN connections

    Rory,

    Thank you for your opinon and advice.

    Gaijin

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •