2 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Permissions in ADS - order of application?

Hi. I'm by no means an ADS expert but I do have some rights, primarily in order to grant permission to certain users to use directories on our intranet server. However, I've hit a puzzling situation.

There is a VB6 application that copies a file created on a local drive to a particular folder (let's call it A) on the intranet server. User B has been able to use this application quite happily, as she is a member of Group C which has modify permission in folder A. User B needs to hand over usage of the application to user D. I have put user D in group C - and expected user D to be able to copy a file into folder A, but she can't, she gets the msgbox 'Permission denied'.

A little experimentation has shown that both users (like the rest of us) are members of a group called, say, 'Permanent Users', which is allowed access into folder A but NOT modify access. User B (like me too) has no problem with this as we have modify permission into folder A through group C. However, I need to (temporarily) allow the 'Permanent Users' group to have modify access into folder A in order that user D is able to (programmatically at least) copy the file from her local disk to folder A. Resetting group 'Permanent Users' back to less than modify access brings back user D's 'Permission Denied' error, even though she is still a member of group C which allows modify rights in folder A!

Can anyone tell me why this should be? That although both user B and user D are members of both group C and the 'Permanent Users' group, only user B can take advantage of group C's modify permission while user D falls foul of the 'Permanent Users' non-modify restriction?

Thanks for any help with this!

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

Re: Permissions in ADS - order of application?