Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Norton 2006

  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger pccoyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    535
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Norton 2006

    Norton 2006 has just been installed, & on the taskbar is this enormous yellow Norton icon. Does anyone know how I can resize this icon in line with most other icons? e.g. Outlook, Volume etc
    Paul Coyle
    Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Norton 2006

    Paul,
    I don't know of any way to resize it, but you can get rid of it completely (most of the selections are just advertising for Norton products anyway and I found it VERY annoying). In WinXP, Start>Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Services, scroll down to Norton Protection Center Services and disable it.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger pccoyle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    535
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Re: Norton 2006

    Thank you for the prompt response John, your tip did what I required. <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16> <img src=/S/flags/NewZealand.gif border=0 alt=NewZealand width=30 height=18>
    Paul Coyle
    Approach love and cooking with reckless abandon

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Norton 2006

    Great. <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15>
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    228
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Norton 2006

    You do not have to stop the service if you do not want to.
    Right click the big yellow box the last this in the drop down is "move norton system status to the system tray", this will put it right beside the NAV system tray icon. It takes a space in the system tray but it is still running.

    just in case you do not want to stop it al together. later

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Norton 2006

    Yes you can certainly do that, but as I said previously, the links to most of the "alerts" simply lead to promotions on the Symantec site, promoting the user to purchase additional Norton products. Personally, I don't want Symantec advertising cluttering up my system tray. <img src=/S/nope.gif border=0 alt=nope width=15 height=15>
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •