Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 44
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Monitor question

    All of a sudden my monitor will just go to a black screen. By moving it about, I was able to restore the picture enough to reboot the computer and the monitor came back on with 800x600 instead of the 1024x768 that I was accustomed to. That worked for awhile and then bingo, black screen again. This time I messed about until I realized that if I tipped the monitor up so that it is on an angle and set the front of it on a fat Sharpie, it keeps my desktop viewable. (see picture below)

    So my question is this - Why does this work? Does a monitor develop lose parts or does the wiring become lose for some reason? I haven't figured out why tilting it up and back would make it work as apposed to it sitting as it should on the desk. It isn't as if I have dropped it although tonight I did bash it a good one to see if it would shape up! This one is a CRT from around 1998 so I know it is probaby done for and not worth messing about with but I am curious what might be causing this problem?


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Monitor question

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by DaveA on 14-Feb-06 20:14. Add note aboyt coffee.)</P>I would plan on replacing that CRT with a NEW LCD flat screen. I have been getting the 17 inch ViewSonic for about $299 at Fry's here in town.

    Edit: Have you been spilling your <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48> in the air vents?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Monitor question

    I've no idea what a 'Sharpie' is, but unless it has some strange electromagnetic property, I doubt if it is relevant.

    From your description of the cure, I would suggest that it is a mechanical issue. Unless you were moving the monitor about violently, I suspect that it is not a fault at component level, but more likely to be with the cables and/or connectors as these would flex with movement of the monitor. I would check that both ends of both the power and signal cables are securely seated. Where applicable, unplug and refit the connectors to their sockets a couple of times to help clean the contacts.

    When you say "...it keeps my desktop viewable" I assume you mean that the monitor displays something other than a blank screen, as opposed to it behaving differently when you have an application open on your screen? (I can't believe you mean you can actually see the top of the desk your monitor is sitting on...)

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Monitor question

    I agree with Leif, check cables or how they are placed. Sometimes if there is a wall behind the monitor the cable can become "bent" between the monitor and the wall, thus maybe connectors are not seated.

    But maybe it is getting a bit old; as you already know they DO start to behave funny then.

    <img src=/S/whisper.gif border=0 alt=whisper width=29 height=17> Thanks Leif, Sharpie or a fat Sharpie, can not tell either.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Monitor question

    <img src=/S/whisper.gif border=0 alt=whisper width=29 height=17> A Sharpie is a marker pen, see here

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Monitor question

    <img src=/S/whisper.gif border=0 alt=whisper width=29 height=17> Ah! Perhaps Skitterbug needs to check to see if there is a hole in the underside of the monitor causing the pixels to leak out, and it's a Sharpie Metallic with it's tiny metallic flecks reflecting the picture back into the hole and onto the screen?


    <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Monitor question

    Skitter

    Yes, this is a very serious problem. If the cable checking works, then fine but Leif did touch upon pixel leak which is a major cause of monitor faults. The link will provide you with some remedies.
    Jerry

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Monitor question

    And IF the cable-checking doesn't pan out and IF you decide to spring for a new LCD, there are always "specials" floating around where you can get known-brand 19" flat screens for somewhere close to $300. I got mine at Buy.com - LCD Monitors and didn't even bother to check local superstores. The most difficult question for an un-trained person like me was the differences in contrast ratio. I have no idea what the difference in a 500:1 compared to a 600:1 would look like to the human (untrained) eye! Keep us posted and be very careful of Jezza's pixel dust... <img src=/S/anigrin.gif border=0 alt=anigrin width=19 height=19>

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Monitor question

    The resolution changed, you say? Monitors don't do that, only video cards change resolutions. Check your connections there, including making sure that the card is properly seated inside the case. If possible, connect the display to another working system and see if the problem persists.
    -Mark

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Monitor question

    I'm back! Whew! I ended up reconfiguring an old Win98 ME computer so I could access the net! I had to install a NIC card so my cable connection would work! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> My little packard bell monitor would not display properly on my Win XP box even though I had gone into safe mode and set the resolution to the lowest possible setting. Not sure where I went wrong with that idea. Anyway.................here I am! Thank you all for your ideas. I tried them all except the "leaking pixels" idea! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15> and WyllyWylly's. I'll check inside the case and see if the adapter is loose and later, I'll try that monitor on this system and see what happens!

    I'll post back - I promise! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> I am finally going to get my <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Monitor question

    The "leaking pixels" problem could be similar to the problem we had very many years ago with badly terminated "bus and tag cables" on mainframe disk drives, where we told the MD that the reason for the false flooring in the computer room was so that the data had somewhere to go when it leaked out of the ends of the cables. We had an IBM hardware engineer arrive very quickly (and he was sworn to secrecy as soon as he got in the door...!).

    John
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Monitor question

    And who says the IT department doesn't have a sense of humor? <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Brookings, South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Monitor question

    <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> Sounds like when I was in the Army (wow THAT was a long time ago!!) as a radar/computer tech. We were continually sending newbies for "doppler grease" (I was a tech on a continuous wave radar), "video paint" for the CRT's and a couple of other job specific items.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/gdrezek_sig.jpg>
    "Those who dance are considered insane by those who can't hear the music" - George Carlin

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Monitor question

    <center>
    <hr>I can't believe you mean you can actually see the top of the desk your monitor is sitting on.<hr>
    </center>Why not ?????
    Attached Images Attached Images
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Monitor question

    Yes, but that's a Mac!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •