Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Wirral, Merseyside, England
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Recording BIOS settings

    This is probably very obvious to all you experts!
    I spent several hours this morning sorting out the BIOS settings on a friend's PC. The MB battery had died so everything went back to the default settings. There was no record of the original 'factory' settings. The only way I could think of recording the new settings was using pen and paper as (as far as I am aware) there's no way of printing the numerous set up screens. Then an 'eureka' moment - photograph each screen using his digital camera. Download the photos, print them out and put them away safely!

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Recording BIOS settings

    You are absolutely correct. BIOS stands for "Basic Input-Output System", that means, in particular, no printing output. However, some makers (for example, HP) added an ability to backup BIOS configuration - and even whole BIOS - to the floppy disk. BTW, "factory" settings in most cases mean "default": usually installed devices are recognized by BIOS auto-configuration or motherboard BIOS yields devices' BIOS (for video adapters, for instance). BIOS default settings must be changed in rare occasions, and I am very interesting which settings did you change.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Recording BIOS settings

    Hi kaplinb,
    ----------------------------------
    BIOS default settings must be changed in rare occasions
    -----------------------------------
    I was interested in your comment above about rarely changing BIOS settings. I would agree if you are talking about basic setups to get a machine running, or once you have it set to your satisfaction but I know I changed quite a few default settings in getting my system running the way I wanted it. Once set up, then fine not a frequent need to make changes.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Wirral, Merseyside, England
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Recording BIOS settings

    The BIOS changes were very much a case of trial and error because the USB ports wouldn't work, there was no sound and the modem (he's still on Dial-Up) wouldn't function and, of course, the date and time were wrong. Everything seems OK at the moment but I wouldn't be surprised if another minor problem appears.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Recording BIOS settings

    I'm with Bob on this one. I've rarely seen a BIOS in which something didn't need to be changed from default. Sometimes it's type of printer connection, or boot order or IDE setup or what have you. The 'saving grace' if there is such a thing, is that most modern day BIOS chips are much simpler than they were a mere 10 to 15 years ago. I too have seen a number of BIOS manufacturers who provide a mechanism for 'saving' BIOS settings to a floppy disk. Sometimes this ability is included with an update patch, but in other cases one can download such a utility from the BIOS maker's web.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Recording BIOS settings

    I want to thank everybody for comments. Let me explain what I tried to say. Indeed, when you set up a new machine, you can set passwords, boot devices sequence etc. But it has to be done only once, until the next configuration change. I do not mean computer geeks, who adding and removing devices every day. I do mean computer users, who have absolutely no idea what is inside the chasis.

    Thank you all once again.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Recording BIOS settings

    kaplinb,
    --------------------------------------
    I do mean computer users, who have absolutely no idea what is inside the chasis.

    ----------------------------------------

    And if that's the case, they shouldn't be fiddling around with the BIOS either. That's for your relative, friend or neighbor ( who knows all about computers ) is for! <img src=/S/compute.gif border=0 alt=compute width=40 height=20> <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •