Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Palatine, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Internet Options dialog (IE 6)

    My Internet Options dialog box's "Advanced" page is dead - cannot check or uncheck any lines on that page.

    Is there a way to replace the current dialog with a "new copy" or do you know a way to fix this problem?

    Any help would be appreciated,

    Ed

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Internet Options dialog (IE 6)

    Try running the "Repair" from the Add and Remove group in the control panel.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Palatine, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Options dialog (IE 6)

    I am sorry but I failed to mension that I tried re-install and many other logical fixes with no avail.
    The problem started a few generations ago - in MS 5.0
    and carried over into at least 4 different versions.
    All other parts of the Internet Options dialog box works
    fine except for the Advanced page which has locked in
    some unwanted options and preventing me from checking some important options.
    I'd be happy to follow any suggested approaches for fixing this problem.
    Thanks for any help .....

  4. #4
    NoOne
    Guest

    Re: Internet Options dialog (IE 6)

    There has been a new version post at Microsoft.com
    Go to <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/download/preview/ie6/ie6preview.asp>http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downlo.../ie6preview.asp</A> for the download.
    <img src=/S/flee.gif border=0 alt=flee width=25 height=25>
    . <img src=/S/fire.gif border=0 alt=fire width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Internet Options dialog (IE 6)

    Has the PC ever been on an NT network? Installed by corporate administrators? Policies about settings can be pushed out during installation and daily logon and stored in the registry. The details are mighty hard to uncover, and I'm worn out digging, but if you are inclined to muck with the Registry, try checking here:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwarePoliciesMicrosoftInternet ExplorerControl Panel

    Since you want freedom from existing policies, I think you might rename the Control Panel branch of the tree to Old Control Panel and then restart IE and see what happens. Or, if you would like thoughts on what problems this could cause, export the part of the registry under Control Panel, rename the file something like IECP.reg.txt and post it up here.

    To do more research first, check out the Internet Explorer Administration Kit at Microsoft (<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ieak/en/corp/default.asp>http://www.microsoft.com/windows/iea...rp/default.asp</A>).

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Palatine, Illinois, USA
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Internet Options dialog (IE 6)

    Response to jscher2000:

    Thanks for the suggestions. The PC has never been a network.
    I have not tried to rename the control panel branch in the registry. I thought first I post the control panel branch for your thoughts. (I am too chicken if I don't know what will happen!). Here is the info, I hope it's what you need. Please let me know if you have any ideas. Thanks!

    REGEDIT4

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwarePoliciesMicrosoftInternet ExplorerControl Panel]
    "Settings"=dword:00000001
    "History"=dword:00000000
    "HomePage"=dword:00000000
    "Proxy"=dword:00000000
    "Autoconfig"=dword:00000000
    "Connection Wizard"=dword:00000000
    "Connection Settings"=dword:00000000
    "ResetWebSettings"=dword:00000000
    "Advanced"=dword:00000001

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Internet Options dialog (IE 6)

    My goodness, I'm really late in getting back to you. I think you need to change that last setting to 0 to get your tab back. But you probably already tried it by now...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •