Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    McLean, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    TOC not working... (WORD '03)

    I have a 232 page tech document that, when I go to build a TOC all works and looks fine. Then I save document. Next day, I go into my document and All entries for TOC reflect a page number of 4, clearly WRONG. What is going on? This document is saved to my Desktop, at present. Yesterday, this was not an issue... Meaning I did exit and go back into document without event. Today, the documents has forgotten it's correct TOC!!!
    What is going on!! WORD is determined to give me grey hair. AND, today is my birthday!!! : )

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: TOC not working... (WORD '03)

    Happy Birthday! <img src=/S/fanfare.gif border=0 alt=fanfare width=31 height=23>

    What happens if you select the TOC and press F9 to update it?

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    McLean, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOC not working... (WORD '03)

    It updates fine. I have done this numerous times with this document and a few others I'm having this same issue with!!

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: TOC not working... (WORD '03)

    You state "It updates fine." Does that mean that the page numbers are corrected after updating?

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    McLean, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    74
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: TOC not working... (WORD '03)

    yes, apparently. I say it this way because something STRANGER is also going on.
    In Print view (where I mainly hang out in WORD '03) on the L side of the screen there is a list of my formats for each individual line....!!
    Heading
    Normal
    I have no clue why that is showing! I've submitted a helpdesk ticket, but, the helpdesk usually never gets back to me....even on my Birthday!!!! : )

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: TOC not working... (WORD '03)

    Are you sure you're not in Normal view or Outline view? They have the option of displaying a style area on the left hand side - you can set its width in the View tab of Tools | Options...

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: TOC not working... (WORD '03)

    <big>Happy Birthday!</big>

    As for the TOC, the page numbers might be incorrect if the field is updated without the document first being paginated. I haven't searched for the solution, but using Print Preview often fixes such things because it forces a repagination and, if you have ticked the checkbox to update fields at print time (Tools>Options..., Print tab), then that repagination should be reflected in all fields that use page numbers.

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: TOC not working... (WORD '03)

    You didn't happen to create this document with a merge did you? I had this issue in Word 2000 when I created a document by merging a source document with a record in Access. It would display page numbers accurately at first, then display the same page number for each entry on opening. As I recall, prior to the final merge, I displayed the record in the document. At that point, I converted the TOC field to text in order to freeze the correct page numbers, then did the merge. This worked for this particular application, but certainly wouldn't for others. However, you could recreate the TOC field in the merged document.

    I'm *sure* there was a KB article at the time, but I'm not able to find it now. 'Course, if you didn't merge, this wouldn't apply to you...

    Kim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •