Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada, Ontario
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Laptop won't synch

    Hi: I just got a used Compaq Armada 7330T on which I installed W98SE, and then the Handspring software. I then bought a serial hotsynch cradle, and figured I had a great way to keep my laptop and desktop coordinated. Silly me.
    Thnig is, I can't get the armada and my visor to talk. I've tried com1 and com2, but nothing happens. The poor little Visor tries, but the Armada's not interested.
    Any suggestions? Is there some way to tell it that there's a third player involved? is the Palm OS monogamous?
    TIA, Michael

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newbury, Berkshire, England
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Laptop won't synch

    Is the setup string correct?

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada, Ontario
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Laptop won't synch

    I'm sorry, but I'm afraid I don;t understand the question.
    Michael

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Newbury, Berkshire, England
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Laptop won't synch

    On my palm III theres a setup string for the conection, sometimes this gets corrupted. I presume you have the same on your visor?

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Laptop won't synch

    I know that I've had problems setting up Palms for users with active infrared ports on their laptops. As soon as the infrared port is disabled, it seems to work.

    I must admit this has only happened with IBM Thinkpads, but a co-worker I've spoken with has tried this with an Armada, but I'm not sure which model.
    Christopher Baldrey

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Laptop won't synch

    You'd be better off doing a direct sync between your laptop and desktop using the Windows briefcase instead of trying to do it through a PDA. I haven't yet found anyone who could make a 3-way sync like this work properly anyhow because that isn't what the software was designed to do. If anyone ever comes up with software to facilitate this, they'll make a fortune, because it seems to be the first thing everyone thinks of ... and then gives up on. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    Gary Sausman
    Guest

    Re: Laptop won't synch

    Gilbert:
    Does your laptop have a modem installed? If so, it may be using the COM 1 port and you may not have access to that port. By design, most laptops have only one COM Port and it it is in use by another device (modem, IR Port etc.) that device takes precedence over the port and thus preventing you from syncing to that port.

    Also, have you confirmed your conduit path in the "hotSync" app to be sure it is pointing to the correct port? Also, check your port settings on the laptop and see if they appear to be correct.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •