Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wrong mouse control panel (XP Pro SP2)

    For some reason, Windows will not show the correct control panel for my mouse any more. When I first installed my mouse (IBM Optical Navigator model MO27FO) I had the correct control panel showing, allowing me to change the button functions and access non-standard mouse options). I selected the 'hide icon' option, and the next time I went into the control panel all I had were the Windows default mouse controls. An 'update driver' replaced the IBM driver with Microsoft's and killed my middle and side buttons. Reinstalled the IBM driver and still only had the Windows control panel and could not set middle or side buttons. The only way I was able to get my buttons back was to do a system restore, but I'm back to having no control over the extra mouse settings.

    Is there any way to force Windows to display the proper control panel?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Wrong mouse control panel (XP Pro SP2)

    David,
    I would go into Device Manager and uninstall the existing MS driver. Then click on check for new hardware and let it discover the mouse again, hopefully it will show the IBM mouse not the MS mouse. If not go to where it asks you to choose from a list and pick the IBM type. If not point it to the CD that has the IBM files in it, in order to update them. HTW.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Wrong mouse control panel (XP Pro SP2)

    Since you reinstalled the software the applet is probably OK but have you checked for the *.cpl file in the system32 folder? You could also search the registry for "IBM" to see if there is some setting left over that might keep it from displaying in the control panel.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wrong mouse control panel (XP Pro SP2)

    The things I've tried so far: The default 'Update driver' replaced the IBM driver with Microsoft's, disabling the extra mouse features. Updating the driver via manual selection (keeping the same driver but apparently with a fresh setup) gave me a systray icon again but still not the proper control panel; this also reset the mouse buttons to their IBM defaults but with no way to change them. Removed the mouse from the Device Manager and rebooted; Windows 'found new hardware' and put it's own drivers on; installed the IBM drivers and still had the original problem. Disconnected the mouse, removed from DM and rebooted; the IBM driver would not finish loading without the mouse connected, but as soon as it was plugged in Windows set it up with the MS driver again.

    I guess the biggest nuisance is that this mouse & driver used to work without issue, but I did a format & full system rebuild and this time around I'm having issues. In fact, I've rebuilt a couple of times since the original, just to try to get the mouse working right. One time it was a rebuild where I added the IBM drivers near the end of the process (XP, add SP2, add mobo and other system drivers, then mouse), another time I tried loading the mouse drivers immediately after installing XP and then added other drivers and updates. The only things I can think of that are fundamentally different between the original system build and the current are a BIOS update and a new video card.

    I'm hoping to make all this moot with a new wreless keyboard & mouse set, but I still want to find a solution - just in case there are more issues ahead.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Wrong mouse control panel (XP Pro SP2)

    David,
    I suspect you need more than a driver. You probably need a complete utility which gives you full functionality for the mouse (should have been on a CD with the mouse).Have a look here . The description says it's 9Mb so it is probably the complete package. Scroll down the page to the third post. This indicates that it is the complete suite and gives installation instructions.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,993
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wrong mouse control panel (XP Pro SP2)

    I agree with John about a complete utility. When I first read your first post I thought; isn't this same kind as MS Intellipoint etc., i.e. a complete utility that you install. Thus it should be found in add/remove program, and not only a driver issue, right-clicking in Device Manager. But I don't know; you seem to have checked everything.

    In your last post you mentioned that you had removed the mouse from DM several times in this process. I earlier posted about a tip to show devices that are not present (i.e. old hardware, or devices that are supposed to be connected and removed USB etc.). You could try that to look at the Device Manager and see if there is more than one mouse, when you are removing. See <post:=475,091>post 475,091</post:>

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Youngstown, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    705
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wrong mouse control panel (XP Pro SP2)

    I checked out driverguide.com a few days ago and the driver I downloaded from them was the same one that was on my install cd. When it is 'installed' there is a 'Mouse Suite' listed in Add/Remove Programs, but there is no folder set up under Program Files, and the driver details point to a whole host of .dll's in System32, but nowhere is there a .cpl for the mouse.

    With a little registry diving, I found there were multiple mice set up, and I actually found "Optical Navigator Mouse" as a device name, but nothing that made any real amount of sense. I'm wondering though, if I could use a different driver -- the Logitech mouse I use at work is almost identical to the IBM mouse (just not an optical). Can't really make much more of a mess, right? And besides, that's what System Restore is meant for.

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Wrong mouse control panel (XP Pro SP2)

    Well if that's the same software as is on the CD, then it looks like something is not being completely installed (for whatever reason). Have you tried removing ALL of the mice as per <!profile=Argus>Argus<!/profile> 's <post#=475091>post 475091</post#> ? That would be my next step.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wrong mouse control panel (XP Pro SP2)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by skitterbug on 01-Mar-06 20:38. Added my OOPS!)</P>Have you thought about running in safe mode and checking the hardware device manager to see what is listed there for mice? Maybe if you delete them all while in safe mode and then install your current mouse, it might work properly? Just an idea. I can't try it out since I don't have a mouse like yours. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    OOPS! <img src=/S/grovel.gif border=0 alt=grovel width=31 height=23> Sorry Argus, I totally missed your [<post:=560,244>post 560,244</post:> pointing to your excellent star <post:=475,091>post 475,091</post:> <img src=/S/thumbup.gif border=0 alt=thumbup width=15 height=15> It is definitely where I would start with a reluctant mouse problem! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •