Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Belfast, Ireland
    Posts
    339
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Active Desktop doesn't log-in (XP SP2)

    We have decided to set our Intranet as our Active Desktop. This does require a username & password, so we've gone to everyone's PC's Desktop settings and chosen Web --> Current Home Page (which is set to our Intranet), and we've gone into Properties --> Download and entered each person's username & password.

    However, this isn't working. The Desktop is just remaining at the Login screen. The only way to get it go to our Intranet's Home Page is to lauch IE and log-in. Once we've logged in via IE, we can choose Synchronize from the menu, and the Desktop changes to the Home Page as opposed to the Login screen.

    Is this a bug, or are we missing something?

    Thanks in advance for any insight!

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,656
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts

    Re: Active Desktop doesn't log-in (XP SP2)

    Do you get any errors? Have you checked the event log? Have you made any changes at the desktop or server recently? Have you applied any patches to the desktop or server?

    Joe

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Belfast, Ireland
    Posts
    339
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Active Desktop doesn't log-in (XP SP2)

    No errors--just the login page instead of the logged-in page.
    Haven't checked the Event log, but this is the same for every PC.
    FWIW, this is the 1st time we're using Active Desktop, so if we had made changes that affected it, we wouldn't be able to pinpoint what it was or when it was. [img]/forums/images/smilies/sad.gif[/img]
    Patches? We always apply MS patches whenver they're released (via WSUS).

    Thanks for your reply. [img]/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif[/img]

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Active Desktop doesn't log-in (XP SP2)

    Did you set the Internet Explorer security zone in which the target Web site appears to Automatic logon only in Intranet zone? (How to use security zones in Internet Explorer)

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Belfast, Ireland
    Posts
    339
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Active Desktop doesn't log-in (XP SP2)

    No, this site is in the Trusted Zones, which I believe has even more priviliges than the Intranet Zone.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    20,656
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 635 Times in 568 Posts

    Re: Active Desktop doesn't log-in (XP SP2)

    Unless the privilieges have been changed by Group Policy oe IE Administration Kit.

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •