Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Adding a Command Bar (2003)

    This problem is a follow-on from <post#=559,017>post 559,017</post#>
    I have determined that when the macro in the original problem fails, I am unable to create a new command bar using:
    <UL><LI>View | Toolbars | Customize, then
    <LI>Under the Toolbars tab,
    <LI>Clicking New
    <LI>Being presented with Custom 1 Available to: Normal.dot Clicking OK [/list] The results are as I would expect if I had clicked Cancel.

    Causing Word to create a new Normal.dot template by renaming the problematic template cures the problem at least temporarily (this has been an intermittent problem on several machines for some time now). Moving the problematic template to a second machine and using it as Normal.dot there does not reproduce the problem.

    Any guidance would be appreciated.
    Regards
    Don

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Adding a Command Bar (2003)

    Ah, but could you do it before the macro fails? <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15> I wonder whether there is a cause-and-effect relationship here -- the failure of the macro mucks up the commandbars collection somehow -- or whether both are symptoms of the same underlying problem -- neither VBA nor you can add a commandbar for the same reason. Or both...

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Adding a Command Bar (2003)

    Hi Jefferson
    Can you offer a series of tests that offer a reasonable hope of answering your question? Once answered; will we be any closer to correcting the situation? I don't think so--but i've been wrong many times before.
    It strikes me that if there are switches which could be checked; once identified, we might be able to monitor the errant rascal to determine what is erroneously altering it.
    Regards
    Don

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Adding a Command Bar (2003)

    Unfortunately, I'm not good at dealing with intermittent problems like this. If you can track it down to a particular template, that might be a clue. Without repeatability, it's hard to design a valid test.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Adding a Command Bar (2003)

    Thanks Jefferson
    I guess that my query boils down to; Does anyone know of any series of steps which could inhibit the addition of a command bar, yet allow the user to go through all of the appropriate steps to add one? <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>
    Regards
    Don

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts

    Re: Adding a Command Bar (2003)

    Hi Don,

    I had the same problem you described. I recreated Normal.dot and the problem went away. One of the things in Normal.dot that can become corrupted is the commandbar collection. Maybe a specific toolbar is causing the problem? Of course, that's going to be a difficult thing to pin down since it happens sporadically.

    I do know that corruption in Normal.dot kept me from creating a toolbar in ANY template.

    Don't know if this helps, but I feel your pain.

    Best, Kim

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,609
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Adding a Command Bar (2003)

    Thanks Kim
    Some day we'll get to the root cause of this. Then we'll take over the world! <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>
    Regards
    Don

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •