Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Anderson, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Drop Down List (Access 2k SP3)

    I have a continuous form that allows a user to select certain information and the order of viewing for several reports.

    I have a combo box on this continuous form. The combo box does not show a selection in the drop down list that has already been made in the continuous form.

    The database is only used to run several reports. There is a separate copy of the database on each user

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drop Down List (Access 2k SP3)

    Hi Winston

    The first thing that jumped into my head when I read this was., have you thought of storing the data in a backend database and providing your users with a front end by linking the tables...of that is, if you have them networked...is that the kind of nudge you need?
    Jerry

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Anderson, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drop Down List (Access 2k SP3)

    The actual data is on a SQL server and linked to the database. "tbl_show_lines" is the only localized table. This database is use for reports only. When each person had their own local copy of the database it worked perfect as the table was unique to each user. Now that the database is in a location on the network now everyone shares that table.

    I am stuck on how to make this information in the table unique per user and in the drop down box again while it is shared table.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Drop Down List (Access 2k SP3)

    What is the objection to giving each user his/her own copy of the Access frontend?

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Anderson, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drop Down List (Access 2k SP3)

    It started as most people had their own reports they wanted individually. Therefore, I created a quick report in a new database and just sent it to them as their own copy. Then someone else seen other reports that were written for someone else, then they wanted the report as well.

    At that time when everyone wanted all the reports, I created the set up form to allow each user to specify what they wanted on their own. The table "tbl_show_lines" was added locally to the database and it was the only non-linked table. A quick form was added as well to use the new table created.

    I would like to remove the dependency of each person having their own copy of the database to just the one on the network.

    I have everything ready to go except the drop down list in the combo box. The setup form is linked to the

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Drop Down List (Access 2k SP3)

    Does the attached do what you want? I added the username to various queries (I was lazy and didn't give meaningful names to some of the queries).

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Anderson, Indiana, USA
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drop Down List (Access 2k SP3)

    <big>Thank You</big>

    That is exactly what I was trying to figure out. <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •