Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    dakotahopper
    Guest

    Re: FrontPage (2000)

    I may be wrong, but FrontPage saving is a little trickier than in the other Office apps. I think the only way to do it is with each page in the web, click File/ SaveAs, and then click the New Folder icon and specify where to save it.. One nice thing about Win2k is that everything defaults to MyWebs, and the web folder within. I'm not all that experienced w/NT4, so don't quote me. But I think it needs to be done on a page by page basis

  2. #2
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Lauderhill, Florida, USA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Folders (FP/Office 2000)

    I am running FrontPage/Office 2000 as stand-alone applications on an NT 4.0 workstation. A number of input dialog boxes default to the c:winntprofiles<username>personal folder. How can I permanently change the location of the default folder in FP and Office (Word file locations are not a problem)?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: FrontPage (2000)

    You'll notice that in FP2k there are two options for opening. Opening a File and Opening a Web. If you open a web first. Then when you save your pages, FP automatically assumes that you are saving them to the current web. One thing, you can now have more than one web open at a time. So you have to pay attention which web you are in. That is where you will save.
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  4. #4
    dakotahopper
    Guest

    Re: FrontPage (2000)

    Thanks for that tidbit of redundant information. Now perhaps you would care to address the issue in question - how to change the default SAVE location on NT4. Of course FP saves to the current web. Where's the web folder located? What are the dialogue boxes in question? I've never run into any problems of this nature, and was simply trying to help out.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: FrontPage (2000)

    You can choose where the web is located. For instance, on my NT4 machine I've installed IIS. So the inetpubwwwroot folder is where I'm working out of. But sometimes (like when I'm reproducing a problem a lounger has had) I will create a new web. I store it wherever I have disk space <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>. But perhaps I am misinterpreting ChuckD's question. What about it Chuck?
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Lauderhill, Florida, USA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FrontPage (2000)

    I may have been too vague -- here's exactly what I want to do: I import files from a local hard drive (c folder into a FrontPage folder using File/Import/Add File. I want to be able to permanently change the default folder of the "Add File to Import List" dialog box to the one of my choosing (specifically, the one on the c: drive).

  7. #7
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: FrontPage (2000)

    Okay - you've stumped me - I don't think there is a way to do that. At best, FP should remember the last place you imported from, but even then I think that only lasts for the current session. Perhaps changing a registry entry, however....

    Does anyone else have a suggestion?
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: FrontPage (2000)

    I agree with Catherine - I don't believe there is a way to set the default.
    How about mapping to the folder? - something like making it drive "W"?
    When you get to the add window, you simply type in:
    W: [return]
    Four keystrokes, but a lot quicker than navigating.

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Martinsburg, WV
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Default Folders (FP/Office 2000)

    For any program that doesn't let me choose my own "default" location, I put a shortcut to the folder *I* want in the folder *it* wants. A quick double-click on the shortcut from the "Save" or "Open" dialog box puts me where I want to be.

    With FrontPage 2000, however, I just check the "Open Last Web Automatically when FrontPage Starts" under "Tools/Options/General". This seems to put me in the right place.

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Lauderhill, Florida, USA
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Default Folders (FP/Office 2000)

    Thanks for the shortcut tip, Warwind. Don't know why I didn't think of that (too easy, I guess).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •