New Lounger
    Thanks

Home network connection problem

I'm new at everything regarding wireless networking and am having trouble finding a solution to a wireless connection problem. I hope someone can help me. My roommate and I have two laptops we are trying to connect to a cable ISP using a linksys router. He set his laptop up first as the default network. Using Intel PROSet Wireless I can connect to the internet wirelessly just fine. When he goes through Intel Wireless it also shows he is connected to the network but he cannot access the internet wirelessly; but if he plugs the cable directly to his laptop he CAN access the internet. My wireless connection works whether he is "plugged in" or not. Does anyone have any ideas what we may be doing wrong or anything we can try? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks (I'm sure wirelessly probably isn't a real word!)

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Home network connection problem

What ways are IP addresses allocated? (Do you put them in on each machine manually, or is it dynamic?)

Do you have any encryption enabled on the wireless modem/router? (WEP, etc)

What Operating system are you running?
    Best Regards,

Luke

New Lounger
    Thanks

Hi Luke,