Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Hepler, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    151
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    I recently had a broadband connection installed to replace the dial-up connection I had. After the new installation, I could no longer fax Word documents from my computer. I have to print them out, walk them over to the HP OfficeJet 7110 All In One and fax them manually. I can send a Word document to the printer and it prints just fine. I Just can't fax a Word document from my computer. I went through the trouble shooting exercise. Did the Control Panel>accessories>Command Prompt thing. Typed in the port name DOT4_001 and command prompt wouldn't accept that. My OfficeJet is hooked to the computer with a USB and the phone line is attached to the same wall switch as the broadband. I did a clean uninstall of the OfficeJet 7110 and reinstalled it. I checked HP for drivers and it said mine were up to date.
    What do I need to do to send faxes from my computer?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    You cannot fax over broadband (at least not directly). Do you still have your phone modem installed or connected to your PC? If so, you should still be able to fax from your PC. If you have removed/disconnected your phone modem, you won't be able to fax.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Hepler, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    151
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    Thanks for your response. I installed a US Robotics 56KUSB external Faxmodem. I still can't fax by sending a Word document to the HP OfficeJet 7110 printer but my computer can communicate with the HP because it still prints Word documents. I can fax from Word using the fax program that came with the modem. That kind of solves the problem but I'd still rather fax from the HP OfficeJet and not have to go through another program to get the job done. The phone line that the broad band comes in on is the only line I have. It handles telephone, fax, broadband all on the same line.
    Thanks, again, for your reminder about the modem and for your prompt reply.

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    Windows has a built in fax service, but in Windows XP, it is not installed by default. Start> Control Panel>Add/Remove Programs>Add/Remove Windows Components>Fax Services. While fairly rudimentary, it does have a cover page designer and you can fax directly from any application (file>print> and select the fax). I have used other fax programs, but this one does the job just fine (and I send and receive a fair number of faxes).

    As for sending a document to the OfficeJet, I don't think that will work. You must "print" the fax to the fax "printer".
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    Can you explain exactly what happens when you try to send a FAX from the PC. What is the sequence of steps? Do you get an error message?

    Have you looked at the help for Officejet 7110 fax problems on the HP web site. Expecially this page, and this one?

    StuartR

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    John,

    The Officejet 7110 is an All-in-One printer / fax / scanner, and should be able to send faxes without the need for a fax modem in the computer.

    StuartR

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> My mistake Stuart. Guess I should have looked at the specs for the 7110 <img src=/S/stupidme.gif border=0 alt=stupidme width=30 height=30> .
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Hepler, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    151
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    I create the Word document. Select print. Select HP OfficeJet 7110 Fax as the printer. Click OK. A little white printer icon shows up in the right hand corner of the tray at the bottom of the screen. After a few seconds the printer icon disappears. That's it. Nothing more happens. I just had 513 of memory installed and the printer receives jobs a lot faster than it used to so I would expect the fax screen to come up after a reasonable amount of time. It doesn't. The fax director of the HP OfficeJet 7110 never comes up. I checked to make sure the new external modem was listed in Control Panel>phone and modems. It was. The computer evidently communicates with the printer ok because I can print the document. I just can't send it to the fax printer.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Hepler, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    151
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    Thanks for the reference to the 2 HP articles. Looks like I need to call the phone company and see about getting a filter between the DSL line and the computer.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    Nothing obvious springs to mind as a possible cause of that symptom.

    I wonder if your network changed when you added the new Broadband router, if you look at the properties of the "Officejet 7110 fax" printer, and on the Ports tab select "Configure port", does the "printer name or IP address" look right? is it the same as the one for the real printer device that works?

    StuartR

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    Just to eliminate a few possible things, can you open the Printers and Faxes folder, right click on the Officejet 7110 Fax, choose properties and then click on Print Test Page.

    StuartR

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Hepler, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    151
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    I tried that. Nothing happened.

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Hepler, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    151
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    The HP OfficeJet 7110 Fax printer is listed on com port 3
    The HP OfficeJet 7110 printer is listed on DOT...

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    These two should both be the same. Try modifying the port connection to the FAX printer so that it is the same as the other one.

    StuartR

  15. #15
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Hepler, Kansas, USA
    Posts
    151
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Fax from PC (Office 2003 )

    Thanks for your help. Some of the problem has been solved. I discovered I still have a land phone line in addition to the dsl. So I hooked the external modem to the land line and the printer to the external modem. Now the question . . . . . I have distinctive ring because faxes come in on the same line as my phone. Does the fax in windows recognize distinctive ring? Do I have to make any kind of setting for distinctive ring?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •