Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Spyware Blaster

  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Spyware Blaster

    I update Spyware Blaster regularly. In between updates, it stays closed. But whenever I open it back up, I almost always see a message on the Status tab that xxx items have protection disabled. Why is this happening? How are items getting disabled?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Spyware Blaster

    With each new update, some items will be added to the database of nasties. But updating does not automatically activate protection against them. After updating, you should click 'Enable all protection'.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Spyware Blaster

    No, that is not it. Again:

    I update SB. I make sure all items are enabled. I close SB and leave it alone for 2 weeks. I open SB. I see that xxx items are now disabled. I HAVE NOT downloaded anything, manually or automatically in between closing & opening.

    So how did these items GET DISABLED?

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Spyware Blaster

    Have a look here (particularly the answer to the question). Is it possible that you have other anti malware software that may be doing this same thing - i.e. generating false positives and removing valid Spyware Blaster entries?
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spyware Blaster

    I'm sure there would be people interested in the resolution or otherwise of your problem. Could you report back on this?

    Alan

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Spyware Blaster

    I've been watching Spyware Blaster. It seems that the entries that comeback as disabled (on their own) are COOKIES that are identified as trackers. These cookies in the list below are NOT on my computer as I have strict cookie management control and only allow a very limited percentage of cookies to be saved on my system. Each cookie to be saved has to pass my approval. I still don't understand HOW or WHY they appear in SB on their own when I haven't updated the program. Where are the names coming from????

    Image of over 4000 pixels high <img src=/S/yikes.gif border=0 alt=yikes width=15 height=15> moved to zip file by HansV

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spyware Blaster

    All I can hazard a guess at, is that some other software (perhaps your cookie manager) is routinely disabling the SB cookie entries in the registry, so that it might gain full control over cookies. Perhaps you could add a fake entry, similar to a SB entry, to the registry and see if it gets knocked out by "something". Might give some clues.

    Alan

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger ibe98765's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    966
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Spyware Blaster

    I can't find where SB stores its entries in the registry. Anyone know where they might be?

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    5,016
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Spyware Blaster

    HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftWindowsCurrentVe rsionInternet SettingsZoneMapDomains

    Alan

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •