Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Laptop can't access other PC's (XP Pro & Home)

    Yet again I have encountered problems after connecting my LAPTOP (XP Pro) to another "network" ( to another router. Only accessed the internet, not other PC's). Previously worked fine. Now I am back home, I cannot access other PC's (XP Home) on my network via Windows Explorer.

    Currently have only 3 machines live (till the kids get home!) - IP addresses assigned by router.

    OFFICE 192.168.1.101
    BACKUP 192.168.1.100
    LAPTOP 192.168.1.103

    Workgroup is called "WORKGROUP".

    IIRC, the IP addresses for OFFICE & Backup were previously reversed. To keep it simpler I will ignore "Backup".


    Though I cannot access "OFFICE" from LAPTOP via Windows Explorer:

    - I can access OFFICE via Windows Explorer if I type in the IP address
    - I can ping "OFFICE" from LAPTOP fine
    - I can access LAPTOP from OFFICE via Windows Explorer
    - OFFICE is visible in "Workgroup" under "My Network Places"

    Clicking on OFFICE yields an error though. At the moment I get "OFFICE is not accessible. You might not have .... etc ... You were not connected because a duplicate name exists on the network. ....".


    Seems the "remote cache name table" on LAPTOP either has duplicate entries for OFFICE or is corrupted ????

    Running "NBTSTAT -c" yielded (ignoring inactive wireless connection stuff)

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.103] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Remote Cache Name Table

    Name Type Host Address Life [sec]
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    BACKUP <20> UNIQUE 192.168.1.100 342
    OFFICE <20> UNIQUE 192.168.1.100 342
    OFFICE <00> UNIQUE 192.168.1.101 207


    Interestingly one son is now home & I now get

    Local Area Connection:
    Node IpAddress: [192.168.1.103] Scope Id: []

    NetBIOS Remote Cache Name Table

    Name Type Host Address Life [sec]
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    BACKUP <20> UNIQUE 192.168.1.100 385
    GEOFFREY <00> UNIQUE 192.168.1.111 147
    GEOFFREY <20> UNIQUE 192.168.1.111 147
    OFFICE <20> UNIQUE 192.168.1.100 72


    - now only one OFFICE entry but it is the same IP as BACKUP
    - 2 GEOFFREY entries, both with the same IP
    - I **can** access shared folders on GEOFFREY
    - But still **cannot** access OFFICE (or BACKUP)


    FWIW: I notice that if I run "ipconfig /all",

    - On OFFICE I get "IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes"
    - On LAPTOP I get "IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No"



    #### QNS ####

    1. Is the "IP Routing Enabled" difference significant

    2. Would "NBTSTAT -R" fix this problem ?

    3. Or would it make it worse ?

    4. If not (2) above, is there some alternative fix ?


    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Sorry for the long post!

    David



    ##########################

    Running "ipconfig /all" on LAPTOP yields


    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : LAPTOP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetXtreme Gigabit Ethernet #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-85-85-2A-63
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.103
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 203.96.152.4
    203.96.152.12
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, 23 March 2006 4:00:03 p.m.

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 24 March 2006 4:00:03 p.m.

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : HP WLAN 802.11a/b/g W500 #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-85-1B-D6-DE

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Laptop can't access other PC's (XP Pro & Home)

    It would certainly be worth trying NBTSTAT -R to clear your cache of any incorrect entries.
    It might also be worth trying IPCONFIG /RENEW and IPCONFIG /REGISTERDNS on Office, to make sure it is correctly registered in any DNS servers on the home network.

    The IP Routing enabled is a bit odd, you aren't running Internet Connection Sharing are you - this could cause problems as it creates an extra DHCP server on your network.

    Can you let us see the output of IPCONFIG / ALL on Office

    StuartR

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Laptop can't access other PC's (XP Pro & Home)

    Thanks Stuart

    'Tis true that OFFICE "long ago" used to have ICS (was the network gateway for the internet before I got the router). Hence OFFICE has two network cards - only one now live. Anyway, the network previously operated flawlessly (apart from a node type issue a year or so ago - now long since resolved. Node type problem arose after I connected the laptop to a corporate network for internet access).

    After running NBTSTAT -R, clicking on OFFICE (under "My Network Places") lists the shared folders on OFFICE. But clicking on any of those shared folders results in a error statement "Officefolder not accessible ... The network path not found".

    But I can now access folders of BACKUP.

    Running NBTSTAT -c on LAPTOP still yields

    BACKUP <20> UNIQUE 192.168.1.100 582
    OFFICE <20> UNIQUE 192.168.1.100 147

    ie. both machines still showing the same IP address (OFFICE should be .101 - see below).

    Running ipconfig /RESET (and /REGISTERDNS) on OFFICE made no difference.

    How can I reset the IP Routing on OFFICE (ie to not enabled) ?


    ####### Hmm - I just rebooted LAPTOP (after the above).

    Very odd. I can now access folders on OFFICE, but not on BACKUP !!!!

    Re-running NBTSTAT -c on LAPTOP yields

    BACKUP <20> UNIQUE 192.168.1.101 497
    OFFICE <20> UNIQUE 192.168.1.101 457
    (plus GEOFFREY x2)

    Now both PC's show as .101 !!!!!

    Also puzzling - there are a couple of other PC's now live ("kids" home). They show in Windows Explorer, but not when NBTSTAT -c is run on LAPTOP ???

    Frustrating. Networking normally works flawlessly & is fantastic, but how I dread it when it goes wrong. So many complications :-(

    David




    ####### IPCONFIG FOR OFFICE #######

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Office
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 5:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : CNet PRO200 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapte
    r #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-80-AD-72-20-54
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 203.96.152.4
    203.96.152.12
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, 23 March 2006 3:57:23 p.m.

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, 24 March 2006 3:57:23 p.m.

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : CNet PRO200 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-80-AD-72-29-70

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    79
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Laptop can't access other PC's ## RESOLVED ?

    At last it seems I have the problem licked (cannot be certain. BACKUP has been powered down for the night. Will confirm truth tomorrow)

    Problem turned out to be "not unrelated" to the node type problem of c.6 months ago. And to something I mentioned in the first post earlier today - specifically the "IIRC, the IP addresses for OFFICE & Backup were previously reversed" bit. Yes they were previously reversed.

    ###

    Before I found THE solution to the previous problem, I added the IP addresses for BACKUP & OFFICE to my LAPTOP Hosts file as an interim fix (allowed me to access the PC's by name rather than by IP address only). When I eventually fixed the node type problem properly (thanks to Rory), I left the BACKUP & OFFICE entries in the Hosts file as a "backup" measure!! Alas, I had long forgotten this.

    During my recent 4 day absence, normally only BACKUP was powered up each morning. Under this changed circumstance, it seems the router decided to reallocate the .100 address to BACKUP.

    With LAPTOP back in the network on my return, OFFICE was .100 in the laptop Hosts file, but now .101 in the broadcast received from OFFICE - hence the "duplicate name exists on the network" error message. Conversely, BACKUP was .101 in Hosts, but broadcast as .100.

    With the "stray" Hosts entries deleted, OFFICE access from LAPTOP is now fast & robust. Got the old solid feel about it, so I am reasonably certain the problem is fixed.

    Many thanks for your assistance though Stuart. It did help - esp my confidence in using some of the configuration commands.

    David

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Laptop can't access other PC's ## RESOLVED ?

    Thanks for letting us know, I would never have guessed that you had created hosts entries!

    StuartR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •