Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    I've changed the batteries, ran the troubleshooting steps, good batteries, strong signal etc, removed any possible sources of interference, yet I still get a "nervous mouse" jittery and in some cases unable to highlight or select any tasks. Any suggestions?? It seems like a stretch....but the mouse and receiver sit on a smooth glass surface....maybe this is a problem??
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    The easiest way to find out is to run the mouse and receiver on a non reflective surface ( like a mouse pad ) and see if it makes a difference.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    forgot to mention...I use a mouse pad, although the rest of the desk is glass.
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    And be sure you don't have some program running in the background that is hogging CPU. Typical culprits are AV programs like McAfee or Norton and other products. This kind of problem often manifests itself in erratic mouse behaviour, including cordless devices.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    Could be, I'm running XP, with 06" Norton System works, thought that this was a contributing factor, so I waited for the Norton to complete its initilazation and check out of all programs during log on, it seems to be happening after this period as well. If this is the cause, is it wise to disable all or some portion of Norton 06'?

    Thanks Al
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    It might be a temporary but necessary test in order to see if it's contributing to the jittery mouse problem. It sometimes (but not always) helps to open Task Manager to see what the status of the running processes is. Sort on the CPU column. It won't always show you anything significant but it's worth a look-see. Back when I had the problem with McAfee interfering with my mouse, I couldn't see it in Task Mgr, but temporarily shutting down McAfee stopped the mouse problem. Of course, it might NOT be Norton but could be some other app. You might be in for a little experimentation, not the least of which might be a faulty mouse. (Personal opinion here: I've never had much faith in the MS Intellimouse product line and I always stick with Logitech. That's biased, I know)

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    Big Al,

    I checked the task mananger...and do so on a regular basis, to kind of keep tabs on memory etc, all appears well the task manager and with Norton. Believe I've narrowed it down to my enhanced dial up ISP s/w; from time to time it locks or consumes +80% of cpu time, this necessitates a uninstall - install cylce, then all is ok for 2-3 days. This appears to be an unrelated purely ISP/windows problem, and to the Canon platten scanner which is in close proximity to the LCD monitor and mouse/keyboard. I have unplugged the scanner with no problem thus far. Is this is the culprit, I'lll try to physically relocate the scanner. Wait its impssible to have a problem with any MS product...right??? I've given some thought to replacing with a similar Ltech product. Thanks for your input!
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    I presume you've downloaded and installed the latest driver package for your Intellimouse? I've had flaky responses from optical mice time and again, even asking that same question here in the Lounge quite a while back. A lot of it has to do with the imperfect science of optical tracking - and Logitech's products were no better.
    -Mark

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    Mark,

    I'll check that out...although disconnecting and relocating the Canon Scanner appears to have lessened the length and severity of the problem.

    Regards,
    Marty
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    Is your Cannon scanner powered by the USB port by any chance?

  11. #11
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    Leif,

    Correct, although eventhough I unplugged the USB connector I still have some degree of "mouse jitter".....

    Regards,
    Marty
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    OK, as a wild guess, the 5V supply on your USB port(s)/hub is being affected in some way. If you can reduce the loading, does that help?

  13. #13
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brighton, Michigan
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Nervous MS Intelli Wireless Mouse

    Leif,

    r u suggesting a 5 volt pwr supply noise/regulation problem?? Could be, I'll check when I go home......its my home system that's affected. Got to wonder what kind of compatability testing/screening MS or MS's mfr performed prior to manufacture.

    Regards,
    Marty
    Regards,
    Marty

    "Aerodynamics Is For Those Who Cannot Build Engines" - Enzo Ferrari

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •