Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35

Thread: RealVNC

  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    RealVNC

    I know there are a few Loungers who have said they are running (or have in the recent past) RealVNC, so I have a question for you. I just downloaded and installed Version 4.1.1 on both this new Dell and my old Pentium 3 which is now in an upstairs "office." I may choose to try it out on my son's computer at HIS house, but for now I just want to be able to "run" the computer upstairs without trekking up the stairs. Lazy, huh? In truth it's my bad knees. Anyway, I setup the server on the upstairs computer, configuring it with a password and I added the two 192.168.1.x addresses that my router will be using for the two in-home computers. I put both in since the router is likely to reverse them on occasion. I did NOT open (or forward) the usual two VNC port numbers (5900 & 5800) in my router for I wanted to see what happens.

    Pleasantly, when I came back down to the Dell and ran the VNC Viewer, I made a couple of changes like full color, entered the password and bingo, a beautiful connection. I ran a couple of things while I was there and shut it down. So the (silly) question is: in a case like this, "behind" the router, in the private addresses, can you agree that the port opening business with the router isn't necessary, or am I missing something possibly important?

    I'm sure that when I repeat all this at my son's house, using "real" IP addresses that's when I'll have to put the port forwarding in the router.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: RealVNC

    Big Al,

    It's been interesting to see you work your way through all these 'adventures' with the new PC. I can tell you that at work I did not have to change anything in the router to have UltraVNC (open source VNC) work. All I needed to do was make sure the software firewall on each machine allowed the applications/ports.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: RealVNC

    The settings on the router generally do not apply to traffic that is destined to stay on the same "network", only traffic that crosses from one network to another. Thus, if your traffic does not need to go out to the Internet or come back in from the Internet, you should not need to configure anything in the router (unless you operate two different networks inside, managed through the router).

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RealVNC

    Joe and Jefferson: Thanks for the clarification about being behind the router.

    Joe, a further question for you. I thought I remembered a thread where you said you were going to use UltraVNC when it went 'final.' ( <post:=459,719>post 459,719</post:> ) Did you ever use RealVNC prior to that so's you could make a quickie comment if Ultra is 'beter' than Real? I got a bit confused on the UltraVNC site ( http://ultravnc.sourceforge.net/ ) for the nav bar download link leads to a list of files that seem to be 1.28 version but the sidebar links look like 1.01 is the latest. Which version are you using?

    For my in-house needs, file transfer isn't a requirement obviously and that's 99% of my use. For the 1% of the time when I hookup to my son's home, file transfer would be nice but I don't know if that's the only reason to switch from RealVNC to UltraVNC. Whaddya think?

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: RealVNC

    Al,

    Any time I update/repair an exitsting PC or install a new one I use Ultra now. I'm running the 1.28 version which is really 1.29 if you install the tabbed viewer. That is one of the big reasons why I use it. I often need to connect to more than one PC concurrently and a tabbed interface is much nicer than multiple copies. Plus, at least recently UltraVNC seems to be being actively developed. Ihaven't seen an update to RealVNC in a long time (over a year). I suspect either one will work fine for you.

    Joe

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RealVNC

    Please pardon me, Joe, for I'm having a hard time figuring out which files to download. On the 1.2x screen there are five files, four of which say " i386 " and I don't understand which ones I need. Can you clarify for me? Thnx...

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: RealVNC

    Al,

    No problem. IIRC, you d/l & install the 1.0.1 version (UltraVNC-101-setup.zip). Then download the 1.29 tabbed viewer exe (tabbed_vncviewer_129.exe) and just copy it to the installation folder and rename it vncviewer.exe so all the shortcuts will work

    Joe.

    Joe
    Joe

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: RealVNC

    Al,

    Pardon my apparent difficulties in typing my name this AM.

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RealVNC

    Thanks Joe, that worked, except that I'm a little unsure of what I got! I followed your advice and installed on both machines. Afterward, I put the tabbed viewer in, renaming the original so it would still be there, in case. The only "server" default I changed was to un-check the two boxes for disabling the wallpaper and showing a blank screen. I want to see the machine 'as is' in spite of the possible impact on rendering speed. I was a little surprised that they don't tell you to reboot to run (register?) the server, for I didn't see it in the tray. I did a reboot and there it was.

    When I came back to this machine, repeated the process, rebooted and logged on to the other machine, I couldn't do anything with my mouse. I had a screen to look at but was crippled from doing anything. Luckily, the menu available from the upper left corner worked and I was able to shut it down. I have since re-registered the RealVNC server and I guess I'll do without UltraVNC (and file transfer) until I get more time to figure out what I did wrong, or what IT did wrong or didn't tell me.

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: RealVNC

    Al,

    When you install the software and allow it to register the server I think it starts the service but you won't get a tray icon until you reboot. Did you change any of the client session options? What are your mouse settings on the client?

    Joe
    Joe

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RealVNC

    Thanks for hangin' in. No, I didn't change anything on the viewer, I just fired it up and opened the connection to the other machine. As for mouse setting, whew, which one? You may know from other threads that I'm running a Logitech cordless optical BUT no Logitech software is installed. So, XP just sees it as a standard wheel mouse. Here also, I haven't 'customized' any of its settings - it just operates. I'll get back to Ultra probably over the weekend when I can play a little more. Right now, I have the RealVNC server running on the upstairs machine and I don't know if I should run the Ultra and Real services at the same time??? Do you think they would fight with each other if I did?

  12. #12
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,594
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: RealVNC

    I think they would conflict. You should be able to use the UltraVNC client on a different machine though to access a RealVNC server. I meant the mouse settings in the VNC software both server and client.

    Joe
    Joe

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: RealVNC

    <hr>I meant the mouse settings in the VNC software both server and client. <hr>
    OK, I misunderstood and we'll have to explore that one - soon. I'll check to see what's in there and get back to ya. Thnx!
    <hr>...should be able to use the UltraVNC client on a different machine though to access a RealVNC server... <hr>
    Man, if that ain't deja vu, or something, I don't know what is! I tried EXACTLY that this morning before I left for today's assignment and didn't have time to report here. It worked like a charm. I used the UltraVNC viewer on this machine to access the machine upstairs running RealVNC server and it seemed very different. I did have tabbed viewing and a nice clear screen, including the desktop. Accessed Windows Explorer and one or two apps and then I had to run out. The screen window size was a little strange. This monitor is at 1280 x 1024 and the one upstairs is at 1152 x 864 so I expected to see upstairs at full screen but it wasn't. That however is tweaking. I'm gettin' there... The next thing I'll have to judge is "delay" for the experiment this morning seemed a tad slower to respond than the RealVNC viewer does. That too will come.

    I really do appreciate the tutoring, Joe!

  14. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RealVNC

    I use UltraVNC all the time myself Al, and I simply love the speed. That alone, makes it my prefered "remote control" software.

    I'm running the 1.0.1 version you mentioned earlier. I may just have to try that new fangled tabbed interface next.
    Christopher Baldrey

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: RealVNC

    BigAl,

    Okay..... my interest is really piqued with this UltraVNC thingy. But as is typically the case, I am a bit confused. <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/giggle.gif> For example, what is the advantage of using UltraVNC with a local network (Intranet) over the usual file/printer sharing that can be done by default? I transfer files all the time between my PC and my wife's. Does this program allow you to install/uninstall programs, change system settings, etc.?

    Enlighten me please. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •