Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Automatically trasnferring data into Word (2000)

    I have a table in Word and l would like to know if it is possible to import some data into it automatically, either from Access or Excel.
    As l keep having to cut and paste all the time which is very time consuming.

    If this is possible any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,055
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (2000)

    Hi jj,

    If your data are in an Excel Worksheet in tabular form, you could simply copy it, then use 'Edit|Paste Special' in Word with the 'paste link' option to link your Word table to the Excel one. You even get a choice of paste formats. Then all you'll need to do is select the table in Word and press F9 to update it - you can even have Word update the table automatically upon opening and/or at print time (Look under Tools|Options). If the Excel range is subject to change, give it a name before copying & pasting and update the named range in Excel to reflect any changes. Then the updating process in Word will cause the table to expand/contract to match the redefined range in Excel.

    You can use the same process for individual Excel cells, pasting them into a Word table but, if there are many cells involved, it would probably be simpler to set your Excel workbook up with a worksheet formatted to match the Word table and use the above approach.

    Cheers
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    I cannot see any options in Tools - Options in Word where the table could be updated automatically.
    Please can you tell me what option l need to select in Word?
    I would be importing all cells in the left hand side of the Excel spreadsheet into Word,can you tell me how l can do this?

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    Attached is the range l would like to go automatically into Word, is this possible?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,055
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 417 Times in 346 Posts

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    hu jj,

    Maybe you misunderstood. I said:
    <hr>automatically upon opening and/or at print time (Look under Tools|Options<hr>
    If you look under Tools|Options|General you'll see an option to 'update automatic links at open' and if you look under Tools|Options|Print you'll see an option to 'update links' at print time. These are not dynamic updates in the sense that you get them in Excel.

    Cheers
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    I have both these boxex checked, can you tell me what l have to do next?

  7. #7
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    Press OK and save your document...simple as that <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>
    Jerry

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    I have done that and nothing happens?
    How does word know which cells to extract from Excel?,sorry l am a little confused?

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    Well I have a rather large suspicion that you are using auto filters again in your excel file. Although it is not apparent in this screenshot, it has been other ones you have shown in previous Excel threads with helicopter stuff in it. If you are using the autofilters this method will not work...am I right to suggest this?

    The method that has been suggested to you works as I have tested it here and I have followed Macropod's instruction to the letter and he isn't normally wrong.
    Jerry

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    Yes that is right l am using auto filters.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    I'm not sure what gets created when you paste a link. Is it a field code? If you press Alt+F9 to toggle the display of fields, does your Excel sheet switch to a field code? If so, try posting its contents here for review.

    You also could try Insert>File. I believe you can choose to insert a link and then to link to a particular range in your Excel sheet. If you don't have a named range yet for the area you want displayed, create that first. (If you can't create that for some Excel-related reason, you will have to pose that problem to the Excel gurus.)

  12. #12
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    A Magic Forest in Deepest, Darkest Kent
    Posts
    5,681
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    Jeff

    Using Macropod's method you actually get a table created (at least in 2K3), when it is selected you can refresh the data if you make changes to the Excel spreadsheet and it shows in the Word document. I think the issue here is that Justin is using filters in his Excel spredsheet and the data is not being picked up because it is, well, being filtered......hence my query but he is not providing us with much information to assist us!
    Jerry

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    Attached is the named range l need to insert into Word, please can you tell me how l insert it into Word?
    see attachment.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    > Attached is the named range l need to insert into Word, please can you tell me how l insert it into Word?

    Did you try Insert > File?

    (I never do this, so you will need to try it and check the Help as you go.)

  15. #15
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Automatically trasnferring data into Word (200

    The other thing you can try is Edit > Copy and then in Word you use Edit > Paste Special > Paste Link

    StuartR

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •