Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    non-working slave drive (XP Home sp2)

    my second (E slave drive is seen by windows explorer and I can open a file on the root directory. However, I cannot open any of the subdirectories, nor can I save to the drive. I get an I/O device error message when I try. This is a sudden phenomena, without warning.

    My first step will be to open the computer and check all the cables. any suggestions after that?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: non-working slave drive (XP Home sp2)

    Make sure you have a good backup of the drive. Have you changed any thing on the system recently - hardware or software? Have you checked the event logs? Right click My Computer, select Manage, click the '+' sign next to Event Viewer. Look at the system log first.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: non-working slave drive (XP Home sp2)

    1. haven't changed anything recently
    2. Will check out system log - thanks for the tip

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: non-working slave drive (XP Home sp2)

    Check out the <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> System Information for Windows by Gabriel Topala. I think it will report on your drive SMART status.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: non-working slave drive (XP Home sp2)

    You may also want to go into Device Manager and check the status of the drive.
    Also uninstall and then reinstall the drivers for it.

    Who is the manufacturer of the drive?
    You can usually download a diagnostic utility from MOST manufacturers, to test out their drives.
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: non-working slave drive (XP Home sp2)

    Thanks for the event log tip. I didn't know it existed...

    The event log warnings started several days ago. Initially a lot of disk errors (#51), then #20's and #50's. Fdisk errors (#57) crept in and now that's the vast majority of warnings. The fdsik warning linked me to microsoft, which recommended doing a CHKDSK /R /X E:. When that command is issued from the start/run line, the command prompt screen flashes as it initiates and then disappears.

    That's as far as I've gotten.......

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: non-working slave drive (XP Home sp2)

    it's a Seagate 250 GB, about a year old...
    I'll go to their site this weekend and download the utility.

    Thanks for the help.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: non-working slave drive (XP Home sp2)

    You need to keep the command window open by doing Start, Run and then CMD. In the resulting window, do the chkdsk command.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •